We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue, with great choice”

Queens Film Theatre
Ranked #2 of 33 Fun & Games in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: QFT is the leading independent cinema in Northern Ireland, showing #GreatFilmforEveryone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent venue, with great choice”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having just recovered from an all-night horror marathon, and having attended regularly for the last four years, I can wholeheartedly recommend the QFT. Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable surrounds, good bar and, above all, an excellent selection of films, old and new, from across Europe and the wider world. Occasionally has live performances from the National Theatre as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbyrne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    72
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A proper cinema!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I and her parents recently visited here to see the brilliant Le Week-end. We came in a few days before as wheelchair access was a priority, and we were booking for an 'access screening'. The reception was really busy, but the staff did not rush us in any way (unlike the hordes of people behind us arriving late for a showing - not our fault folks!) and could not have been more obliging.
Disabled access to the cinema is good, with a ramp at the entrance, wide entrance and all ground floor facilities.
When we arrived the staff knew we were coming, had the seats reserved and explained the loop system fully.
Knowing the QFT is this friendly to less able bodied people is a godsend. They should be rightly proud of their set up, and we had a grand afternoon at the cinema as a result.
Our experience of other much larger cinemas was nowhere close.
The QFT is a cinema for people who want to see films, there is still an appropriate amount of rustling, but apart from that, no people shouting, talking or texting.
Heaven.

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Arthouse cinema”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you're visiting Queens this is a good way to spend an evening. Book tickets in the Welcome Centre in the Lanyon. There are bar facilities and it is small and civilised. Great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSWinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small cosy cinema, always a great range of films”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have visited QFT a number of times, i enjoy the small cosy cinemas with very comfy chairs and always a good range of films including new, foreign and old classics. Great bar facility and tea & coffee also available which is always nice. I would rather visit QFT than a big cinema chain.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol_b00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient easy going”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

All the latest films and some specialised films. Lots of talks and dialogues with directors also offered.

Great bar

Comfortable chairs

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Film Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Queens Film Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing