We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden institution”

Queens Film Theatre
Ranked #2 of 33 Fun & Games in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: QFT is the leading independent cinema in Northern Ireland, showing #GreatFilmforEveryone
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hidden institution”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The way cinema should be.. Recently refurbished with a beautiful entrance and meeting area complete with cafe. The cinemas themselves are spacious but intimate. The films shown here are those that shine, burst with controversy or remain gilded in cinematic history. Expect the classics, the foreign blockbusters or the simply experimental.. Lots going on throughout the year including many talks and festivals. Usually calendar linked events too like Valentines and Christmas.. Perfect place for a cinema date with a difference

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Johnwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    73
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cinema and great films”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a fantastic cinema in a terrace of houses owned by QUB. The two cinemas are small with comfortable seats. They do not generally show the lastest releases that can be found in the average cinema (though possibly showing more of these nowadays than in the past?). They have an excellent selection of films from around the world and also show docu-films, older films and host talks. It is a unique cinema in Belfast and well appreciated by its loyal fans!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I just enjoy QFT as a break from the big ODEON-type complexes and a place which shows films that would never be shown in the mainstream. The bar and the absence of yakking teenagers are also definite plus points.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank InverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magheralin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Super independent cinema house”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The QFT as it's known is easily Belfast's best 'picture house'. Excellent and eclectic programme of films which changes every 2 months and a very relaxing bar. On Monday all films are £3.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Movie Magic”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I absolutely love the QFT!! I enjoy commercial movies shown in nationwide cinemas like the rest of us but sometimes, I like something different and Queens Film Theatre does just that...provide you with something different, foreign and entertaining. The movies are so diverse and eclectic it caters for everyone's taste. There are 2 screens and a theatre named after Donegal playwright Brian Friel (which i've never been to but would like to if i see something that i'd like to see). It's a very intimate wee place and it's got a bar. The only gripe i have with the QFT is that they don't sell popcorn!!! But apart from that, i do love this place and the staff are great too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LilyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Film Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Queens Film Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing