We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude intimidating doormen, horrible nightclub”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Thompson's Garage

Thompson's Garage
Ranked #69 of 87 Nightlife in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular dance club that plays lots of house and techno.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude intimidating doormen, horrible nightclub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really regretted going to this place, I had been a few years ago and I hope it had changed. It hadn't and was actually worse than I remembered. Dingy, smelly and very over priced warm drinks.

I was in the company of 2 friends of mine, one of whom is deaf and the other has a disability. I was appauled when one of the doormen referred to them as 'spastics'. Will never go back to this place. Avoid.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    3
    30
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrible place, terrible staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had the displeasure of attending this 'Club' recently with some friends.
Staff were apathetic and rude (I work in hospitality, so I know you don't throw a customers' change onto the counter after serving them). The floors were filthy and the toilets were in a disgusting state.
But it was the door staff that really took the biscuit. A bunch of macho, ignorant meatheads.
The best thing about this place is the door out of it.
And make sure you're not filmed in the alley outside.
Yes, this club employ a guy to film people entering and leaving the club.
Avoid at all costs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible for a student night!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Decided to go on a Wednesday night as they said they had 'great student drinks promos' so went in, alright layout, bit cramped and nothing overly special about the place. Drink promos included double vodkas and red bulls for £5, but it stated no where that this ended at 12.30, (although on the same menu it had jagerbombs £3* til 12.30 clearly stated so when I ordered one at 12.40 they charged me £9.60 and offered no explanation! Also selected cocktails were 2 for 1 although at £5.50 each, it was not even worth it. The only cocktail available on the 2 for 1 deal was strawberry daiquiris which tasted like syrup and were in averaged sized Martini glasses, as it was 2 for 1 I didn't mind but I wouldn't pay that price for one. Bar staff were quite rude, didn't thank you and often serve other people who had just arrived at the bar regardless of how long you were waiting. Overall would avoid again, although the smoking area was pretty nice, there was vomit on the stairs as I went up. I alerted the bouncer who said he'd get someone to clean it but two hours later it was still not cleaned. Really not impressed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank clkielty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went to Thompson's on a Sunday night - had a reasonable time as I was with OK people, and I'll reserve judgement on the music as the relevant genre's not really my thing, but the place itself was a meat market. Expensive drinks, drunk-to-the-point-of-sobbing-New-Look-stilettoed-insensibility-and-that's-just-the-blokes customers, a creepy, voyeuristic balcony looking down onto the dance floor. Classy. Worst thing is, this club's in a really good location and could be great - it just needs a major makeover.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sfk658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor look for Belfast needs help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Door staff you very poor they use there time to eye up girls use phones so if you go with your girlfriend best you know this as they don't it right in front of you and if you point it out to them you will not get in they NEED TRAINING once you pay in drinks are not cheap £8 voda red bull and on beer bar staff do not know how to talk to customs not if you get your girlfriend to go to the bar she will get drinks quicker inside is very dirty and dark looks really poor they say its the place to go in Belfast I think not it need money spent on it and better training for all the staff

Helpful?
2 Thank Watithink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson's Garage also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Thompson's Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing