We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Historic Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hall

City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.29*
and up
Wee Love Belfast City Tour
Ranked #4 of 223 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful, neoclassical building serves as the seat of the city's government.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Historic Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a great stop on the Belfast tour, however sometimes the tour guide one gets is better than others. Having done the tour 4 times, I have had three guides, two of whom were better than the other one by a long shot. One learns a lot of history on the tour and sees some great building art.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank UlsterAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,601
    934
    162
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just popped in quickly but we'll worth a look. Very impressive. Wish I had more time to see it properly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank willow731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great continental market at Xmas time with a great festive feel!
Lots of stalls and a great atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Surprise Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Who logs City Hall on their list of places to see while on vacation? Not many, I'm certain....however, we popped in for a look around after pausing to eat at the International Market which was occurring outside City Hall during our visit to Belfast. Although we didn't take advantage of the free tour because of timing, we were warmly introduced to the main hall by a security gentleman who was happy to give us some details. We learned the staircase in this stunning venue was the inspiration for Titanic's staircase which becomes clearly evident when one beholds the majesty of this crafted masterpiece. We also viewed the stained glass and the original charter of Belfast which sits encased in glass for all to see. The artistic murals in the dome are a great tribute to Belfast's industrial growth. If you can find an extra hour (or even less) in your travels to Belfast, I would highly endorse City Hall as a place not to miss! It has some incredible architectural elements combined with interesting pieces of history. We truly marveled at this gem of a stop given our brief allocation of time spent here. Well worth it!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fabulous for Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stunning building...great German Market, well done Belfast what a fabulous attempt at creating a magical place to visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GAILKELLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing