We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 3* hotel”
Review of Jurys Inn Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Belfast
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
derry
1 review
“not a 3* hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Hotel itself was in an ideal location central to the shops & bus depot! The hotel reception was lovely made the hotel look appear a lot nicer than what it actually was.
The staff were lovely and very helpful at reception, I arrived at 10 past four to be informed my room was not ready only had to wait five minutes although I was surprised at this because we were late to check in.
the room itself was big, but it smelt of smoke, the beds had not been cornered or made properly, doing this job myself i know how it should look.
the bathroom was not particularly clean either the toilet seat was dirty and had hair around it, also the bath tub had hair around and the tub was wet. The floor looked like it hadn't been mopped as well. I was very disappointed with this as I expected more from a 3* Hotel. I've stayed in 1* hotels that were cleaner than this one.
The walls are very thin i could hear the room next's doors conversation word for word and more at night people were running up and down the halls at all hours of the morning.
Another shock for me was that you had to pay £10 for wifi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eimear o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,033
    518
    178
    86
See reviews for
531
873
142
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is an ideal location to city centre it is reasonably priced with that in mind. Rooms are basic but very clean, staff seem very busy and there is not much atmosphere in the hotel but it is good value and provides what is needed. Would recommended for a convenient stay if you are not looking anything fancy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannejlisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

reception staff were extremely unwelcoming and unhelpful, there was a mix up with my online booking but no one seemed to care, i wasted most of my day making phone calls trying to sort it out myself. Hotel is in a good location but i would not recommend this hotel because of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mireland074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Jurys Inn Belfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to learn that there was a mix up with your online booking and you also found my reception team unfriendly. To minimise the risk of this happening again I would be most grateful if you could let me know your booking details, so I can follow this up with the agent concerned. My reception team are a very friendly bunch and I would also be keen to find out who you spoke to during your stay as this standard of service is not what we are about here in Belfast.
Please accept my apologises again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Regards
Ryan Foster
General Manager
ryan_foster@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I don't know which was colder...the hotel lobby or the staff. The place was empty but the staff were running around like headless chickens ignoring the customers standing waiting! The reception staff could not have been more unfriendly if they tried.

The room was very very basic and total atmosphereless. There was apparently a choice of pillows but all 5 pillows in the room, even the supposed soft ones, were like bricks! The bathroom was....need I say more other than I will NEVER stay here again.

One last thing...we ordered a bottle of Prosecco at £30 and it was given to us at room temperature. I don't think the barman knew what he was giving us!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Jurys Inn Belfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was not what you expected but I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly, so I can ascertain the date and room number you stayed in. I would also like to know which members of my team you encountered during your stay so I can follow up on the points you mentioned in your review.

Apologises again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Regards
Ryan Foster
General Manager
ryan_foster@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

OK, so I stayed in February which is not exactly high season - but the cost was similar to one of those so-called Hotels with clueless staff and limited service. This is an actual, proper Hotel.
Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Go high - there can be a bit of noise outside. Also, rooms could be better sound insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholasfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff were very helpful and courteous. However, the hotel itself had a run down look. Our room was really cold - you had to be in bed in a jumper to feel warm! Breakfast was pretty revolting and I avoided it on the second morning. There was no room service. It also appeared to be hotel policy to tidy but not fully clean the rooms if you were staying more than one night. So no clean glasses, no clean towels. We had a bottle of wine from the hotel bar and the empty bottle was just left there. All in all - not even worthy of a budget hotel and certainly not deserving of its 3 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Jurys in Belfast several months ago. We were in an upper-floor room with a window that looked out over a courtyard. Early the first morning, casks of beer were delivered, with the delivery man dropping metal barrels onto the cobblestones of the courtyard one by one by one ... dozens of them. CRASH rumble rumble rumble .. CRASH rumble rumble ... On vacation, we like to sleep later than 7 a.m. We complained to the desk and were told that the beer was delivered only every couple of days and it wouldn't happen again during our stay. The next day at the SAME time there was another delivery, not of beer, but of food ... no crash, but the metal trolleys were rolled back and forth across the cobblestones, making loud noises again.
It was totally unnecessary! Why unload in an open courtyard bordered by the guest rooms?
ALSO -- we parked on the side street right next to the hotel and planned to leave the car there overnight. The signs seemed to indicate that it would be OK, but just to be sure, we asked at the front desk and were told, "Oh no! You can't park your car there!" Before moving the car, we took a taxi to meet some friends and asked the cab driver about it. He said of course we could park there. So we did, and the car was fine until he morning.
After returning home, we received an email survey asking about our stay. I told them about being awakened by the crashing twice, and about being told that we could not park on the street when we could (and did). I received an email saying that they could not control deliveries, and they were sorry that we had received a parking ticket. So, way to fail reading comprehension too. Next time, we plan to stay at the Europa!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the street rather than the interior courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Belfast

Property: Jurys Inn Belfast
Address: Fisherwick Place | Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Belfast
#21 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Belfast 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a great city-centre location in the heart of Belfast, Jurys Inn Belfast is just across the road from Assembly Buildings Conference & Exhibition Centre and only a 3 minute walk from Great Victoria Street station - this makes it the best place to stay if visiting on business. For leisure visitors the hotel offers an ideal location to explore the city buzz and attractions - situated only a minute walk from Belfast's Grand Opera House, only 2 minute walk from the city's two biggest retail centres and a pleasant 12 minute walk from the beautiful Albert Clock. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the nearby McCausland paid car park located only 2 min walk away from the hotel. Jurys Inn Belfast features 190 spacious and bedrooms that can accommodate a single guest up to three adults. If you are staying as a family, we have affordable hotel rooms available for two adults and two children. At Jurys Inn, we aim to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible, so we provide you with fresh bed linen with the option for extra duvets and pillows. All of our rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Belfast at Jurys Inn. The hotel is undergoing a fantastic transformation this year commencing with bedrooms from the 23rd of January until the 5th of May (10am - 6pm Monday to Friday). Public areas will also be commencing from the 27th of March until the 6th of June. There will remain bar and restaurant services throughout and we hope you enjoy your future stay at our newly transformed hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Jurys Hotel Belfast
Belfast Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing