We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unionist Bastion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shankill Road

Shankill Road
Book In Advance
$16.07*
and up
Wee Love Belfast City Tour
Ranked #22 of 218 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dummerston, Vermont
Level Contributor
160 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unionist Bastion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A must for anyone seeking knowledge about the situation in Northern Ireland. Talk to people. Solicit their views.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    191
    65
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean it up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a horrible run down area of Belfast and although there may be some interesting shops here you would not visit them as the shabbiness and threatening atmosphere of the whole area is over whelming

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank edelweiss64-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shankill is the shankill lol”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

a number of decent shops , best hairdressers is Hair 4 u and nothing surprises you on it lol although I have lived near it all my life

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I travelled here in the Red City Sight Seeing Tour Bus. We saw ordinary every day people going about their business and the Tour Guide explained the conflict down through the years and the various murals on the walls which were well worth photographing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AEB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“do it on the bus tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We took the hop on hop off bus tour twice during our stay. The shanklin road is one of those places so deeply entangled with news reports from the 70's. It's something to be seen, with the peacewalls and murals. It is a way out of the centre of Belfast so the bus is the best way to see it and get a local prospective on the "troubles"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank callisto1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shankill Road also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shankill Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing