We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place”
Review of Shankill Road

Shankill Road
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.79*
and up
Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin
More Info
$16.38*
and up
City Sightseeing Belfast Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with 48-Hour Pass
More Info
$36.68*
and up
Belfast Combination Ticket: Titanic Belfast Admission and 48-Hour Hop-On...
Ranked #25 of 228 things to do in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Murals, vibrant part of Belfast, economically better off than the Falls area, it was an interesting place to see. Union Jacks flew from almost every building. If you are interested in Irish history, then a trip to the Falls/Shankill areas is a necessity.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Osullyofnewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    216
    76
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't be scared”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I guess the Shankhill can look intimidating to some. However you will likely find it a friendly and fascinating road. We went on a morning taxi tour of the murals and were persuaded to return later in the day for a few drinks by our excellent driver Lawrence.

We got a taxi from the city centre to the Upper Shankhill mid afternoon and spent a couple of hours wandering down and getting a drink or two in some of the many bars. We were welcomed in every single one (even with our 13yo son in tow) and in fact received a drink or two on the house and a couple of souveniers as well.

Obviously the place still has many issues but look beyond that to see the real people of the Shankhill Road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Powerranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shankill Road - don't miss it”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the history and current day closures an incredible journey. A number of the murals are haunting, not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“So depressing”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sadly this is on a tour of Belfast as a highlight showing the walls between the protestant and catholic areas of Belfast that saw so many troubles. What I saw was depressing a huge 30 foot wall separating the communities and so many obviously unemployed which pretty much summed up why they had problems. The art work on the sides of the road paying tribute to heroes just seemed like adding more fuel to the fire. I was quite scared when I heard someone yell abuse at the tour bus going through.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shankill Blues”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It depends when you go and what you want to see, I just prefer other areas of Belfast where there is much more going on.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulinecurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shankill Road also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Shankill Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing