We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCrackens Cafe Bar

McCrackens Cafe Bar
Ranked #118 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having been to Mccracken's before we decided to go back and see if there was any improvement and I must say they are listening,the service was excellent and the food, I always keep it simple and ordered beer-battered cod with chips,it took about 20 mins which was good considering it was fresh fish they were cooking,the fish was cooked just right light and crispy, the chips were very nice and served with peas.
I do hope they will continue to serve food like this good portion size and well presented on a plate and not go down the road of serving food on many side plates which i dislike and is very pretentious,over all a big improvement, well done Mccracken's

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    73
    26
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on a Grab one voucher, two burgers with home made chips and drinks. Food was good tasty fare, well presented and served quickly be attentive staff. We ate on 'Cheltenham Race Day' so unfortunately the TV was turned up very loud just as we sat down for the 'punters' of which there were many, to watch the race. Annoying yes, but we just got into the swing of it and joined in with the experience. Good honest pub grub, will definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Group of 8 friends went here for a friends birthday and we cannot praise it highly enough for the standard of food - presentation, portion size, service and value - everything was excellent. Everyone of us devoured the food, hardly a scrap was left despite the big portions and its not easy pleasing everyone. The staff and manager were extremely friendly and helpful and the service was quick. Would definitely recommend this great place and if you haven't been before or its been a while check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniemarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

McCrackens has built itself a reasonably good reputation eventhough its hidden up an alley which you might find hard to locate if you dont know Belfast. Ive been a few times before but not for food. As it was we just stopped for a quick bite and a pint. The menu is pretty good in the bar and I chose the basic fish and chips and my friend chose the chowder. To be honest the fish supper wasnt worth the £10 i was charged. And it came with just a few chips. Sometimes i wonder how these chefs eat at home. Personally i find nothing worse than paying for a meal and having to eat something else after as youre still hungry. The fish was a skinny sardine sized thing with what i would describe as a thimble full of peas. My friend was reasonably happy with his chowder but again the bowl was quite small. Two pints then and two bar meals came to £25. Imagine what youd get for that in Wetherspoons? Even if McCrackens does look nicer inside. VFM is what counts in these days of thrift. Bar owners listen up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank horizon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grapone don't think so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am very sorry to be writing this but the review (nice bar shame about the food ) just about sums it up for me, we had the same meal but my wife had chips if you can call them that,they were nothing but scrapings,what surprised me was that any chef worth his salt would let this go out of his kitchen,this tells me a lot about him as a person and his standards as a chef,my wife complained and we were offered tea or coffee by the waitress,but my wife wanted a drink the manager then came over and said tea or coffee,that was it, no sorry, no apology,I can only say that my local Chippy has got nothing to worry about.I tried looking for a contact number for the owner to no avale,what was it the Grapone deal or what, to me it dos not matter if it was the meal deal one or not, you should always try your best at what ever you do.It is quite plane to me that the chef and manager have got to get to grips with this or they will lose Business,always remember its not the sale your making now but the repeat business that you are counting on,I only hope that the owner reads this,this is not a fake review,my table was booked for one pm on thursday 14/3/13 so they should know who I am

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCrackens Cafe Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to McCrackens Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing