We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never forget experience”
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
Ranked #4 of 82 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never forget experience”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

While walking around Belfast we noted this restaurant and called in. Immediately we were greeted with a friendlyo helpful girl who went out of her way to assist us. While being taken care of we were never smothered. I adored the atmosphere and everything about the place and we decided it would be our little coffee every time we were in belfast. We returned the next morning for a coffee before we went home, Stuart greeted us and sat and we had such a lovely chat and then he made us the loveliest cup of coffee I have ever had. All the staff we encountered were so genuinely nice. thanks for such a great experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessmurphy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    278
    104
    67
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy food, eclectic decor, and gluten-free options!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed a gluten-free charcuterie plate and dessert too! Really delicious food, well-priced, and a conscientious and knowledgable staff regarding gluten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have returned to this restaurant many times for lunch and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. Vegetarians rarely have many choices but this place is an exception. Lovely salads, quiche, panninis, toasted sandwiches,soup and other specials.
The only criticism would be the McDonald style fries served with otherwise excellent food- why not proper chips?
Great atmosphere and friendly helpful staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gluten Free”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Visited the Harlem Café on the recommendation of a work colleague who told us it was good for gluten free.
The café was quirky and had a good atmosphere. I had the all day breakfast which I enjoyed (not greasy). My wife really enjoyed her GF scone which was the first GF scone she ever had in a café, she normally can only get a horrible tasting biscuit.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank santannelettey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must stop for breakfast or lunch when in Belfast”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great vibe in this quirky cafe located in the heart of Belfast. We loved the egg dishes and sandwich selections all good and all served with a smile. We stopped here on our way to Giants Causeway, it's on the way, well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_helen90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing