We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky & Cool”
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
Ranked #3 of 63 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky & Cool”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

A gem of a place, great food, service & music with a quirky but stylish theme, a must if your visiting Belfast!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dax C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    281
    105
    68
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a stylish little gem”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Traditional cafe food made really well. It's fresh, it's fast and it's delicious. The Harlem Salad is a particular favourite of mine. The decor is awesome too, kind of shabby chic. Love it :)

Helpful?
1 Thank TheInbetweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vibes!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Quirky gaff.. Very chilled.
AWESOME scampi, proper homemade batter. Chips were a bit McDonalds I'm afraid.
Great 80's soundtrack to see me thru lunch.
I will be back

Helpful?
2 Thank Swordy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast in style”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great brunch cafe near hotel and city hall. Had to wait for a table late morning Saturday but worth waiting. Great coffee, lots of choices including the "fry" with a vegetarian option, enough food to keep you going all day. Lots of choice and staff were happy to adjust for preferences. Cute table decor . Interesting walls and a variety of seating. Newspapers provided and open 9 am Sunday.Good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND GREAT ATMOSPHERE!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We happened upon Harlem café totally by accident on a weekend visit to Belfast! We had nothing booked and happened to be passing a very busy Ulster Hall when we came upon the very inviting Harlem. Even though the restaurant looked really busy we thought we would chance it anyway. The guy at the door was really friendly and asked us to wait just a minute while he checked if anything would be suitable. Upon checking there was a table at the back just coming free and after a short wait we were seated! What a find! The food was amazing, generous portions of really great food, The Indian buffet board was very different and tasty and my scampi was the best I've ever had! Dessert was great too and clearly homemade and delicious! The staff were busy but still took time to chat to us, welcoming us and were more than attentive. The guy singing at the front was really fantastic and really topped off an already fantastic evening in a fabulous restaurant. We will definitely be back in Belfast and will make a trip back to Harlem for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elegantvengeance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing