We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!”
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
Ranked #3 of 63 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“love this place!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I go here every time i'm in Belfast and it rarely disappoints. Brunch in Harlem on a Sunday is great-bustling fun atmosphere, lots of choice and lots to look at. I also really appreciate not being rushed from the table even when there is a queue-it was so nice to be able to savour another pot of tea while reading the papers. Great food. we both had porridge and fresh fruit, followed by a salmon and scrambled egg bagel which was to die for. A must visit in Belfast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    281
    105
    68
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good buzz and lovely food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a busy restaurant with plenty of activity and atmosphere. Food was lovely and staff helpful. Will be back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Belfast”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I often eat here with friends on a Sunday afternoon and we have never had a bad experience. The owner is usually in attendance and makes sure everyone is happy with their food. The coffee here is amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traverseinfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We love going here on a Sunday morning. The staff are lovely and the breakfasts are brilliant! There is normally a queue but don't leave because it goes very quickly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star breakfast and brunch!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this lovely cafe 3 times in our 3 day trip!
13 of us ate breakfast/brunch every day and were extremely happy with everything from start to finish. Recommended by our friend from Belfast as "right up our street", the decor was vintage inspired, the place was very clean, well lit and very relaxed.
You could easily spend an hour or so reading the papers and relaxing alone, with a group of friends or with children. One of those places where they interestingly manage to cater for all.
We enjoyed everything from the full fry to the salmon/cream cheese bagel, to the wraps and paninis - all of which delicious. The black and white pudding proving a favourite.
Also, the tea was served in varying vintage tea-pots which we loved.
Cost-wise it was extremely reasonable, we were expecting the prices to be higher!
Staff were attentive, in particular the owner who was an absolute pleasure to serve. Her enthusiasm and dedication (and the treat of our freebie lemon-victoria sponge) is what makes the place. Every table was full on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday too so we made sure after our first visit on Friday to book for the following mornings to avoid being disappointed.
For 13 fussy girls to have enjoyed this place so much and with zero room for complaint - that really is saying something!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and look forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing