We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Harlem Cafe

Harlem Cafe
Ranked #3 of 63 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
karazulu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Harlem Cafe was a real treat, we only decided to give it a try as it was close to our hotel and what a pleasure it was, the service was excellent as was the food the steak was very tender and cooked to perfection, on the Saturday night we were there they had a live singer, we only wish we had time to take in a second visit whilst in Belfast

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karazulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    281
    105
    68
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jack o connel”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We loved this cafe, we stayed in belfast for 3 days and we went there every day. The staff are friendly and the food was really tasty, most of all we enjoyed the decor and the atmosphere. To top it all off we saw one of our favourite actors in there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geieinbijnbiijbbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had brunch here in March 2012 after one of the porters from our hotel recommended it to us for an Ulster Fry. It was so good we returned with friends in September and she said best breakfast she'd ever had. Gorgeous decor and wonderful food and service. Hope it's not too long until we return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missesmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a friendly experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a wonderful place, travelling to Belfast for the first time on business and being told our hotel had been evacuated and we were unable to get in, my colleague and I took refuse in the classic, elegant and chic cafe that is the Harlem. The staff, especially Rick and the owner, shows us such hospitality, even staying open after there normal closing time. I recommend anyone to visit, their blue cheese soup and malted bread was fabulous. Thank you all from the 2 ladies from Cardiff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a fantastic find for us. The decor was unbelievable, so varied but worked. Staff were so friendly, we felt like they were our best friends. We were delighted when we realised they served food Fridays and Saturdays, and we were lucky enough to get a table. Night time live music, candles and romantic setting. We met the owner Fay, who is such a lovely genuinely nice person (and gorgeous looking as well). Fay has created a little gem. Dont expand Fay, keep it the same. Well done to you and your staff for making our visits memorable

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Harlem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing