We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Theatre”
Review of Lyric Theatre

Lyric Theatre
Ranked #38 of 227 things to do in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lyric Theatre is Northern Ireland's full-time producing theatre. The new theatre opened in May 2011 to great critical acclaim. The award winning building is built in traditional Belfast red brick, glass and iroko wood and the cafe bar offer beautiful views over the River Lagan and Stranmillis Embankment.The theatre is open seven days a week with performances usually running in the evenings from Tuesday through to Saturday and matinees on Saturday and Sundays. Contact our box office for more details or check online under "What's On". Our cafe serves coffee/tea and light lunches and is open every day. A brunch menu is available on Sunday mornings.As well theatrical productions, we also offer backstage tours, a programme of theatre school and professional learning and corporate hospitality. Pre-theatre dining is available on Friday and Saturday evenings. Free Wifi is availble
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Theatre”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was here to see Pits + Perverts October 2013 ,
All staff were more than helpful and all very knowledgeable of what shows where coming up all smiles too
Def a well managed theatre

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for such great feedback! We agree, our staff are brilliant! They are what make our theatre tick! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, Pits and Perverts was a great show, addressing a really interesting topic. We were so glad that we were able to help Sole Purpose productions bring this production to the Lyric!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    64
    6
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went to lyric theatre to watch weddings, wakes & wee ones (which was great) the theatre was
well laid out, we were near the back of the auditorium but the sound and visual was great. The facilities are good and clean. The only down side was the bar was very overpriced for drinks we had to wait 10mins to be served at the bar and the invervals are only 15mins long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyhappyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello there and thank you for visiting the Lyric. We're so glad you enjoyed our recent production of Marie Jones' comedy!

We are disappointed, however, to hear of your experience at our cafe bar. We try our very best to make sure our beverages are competitively priced, whilst also taking into account that revenue at our cafe bar goes towards subsidising the unique theatre we produce here. We are also disappointed to hear about your waiting time at the bar. We are working to make sure we implement a service system which cuts down waiting time, and where possible we try to encourage customer to pre order interval drinks before the show. Weddins' Weeins and Wakes was a particularly popular production, with many performances sold out. We apologise that your experience was not as you would have wished it to be in this area, whilst we continue to refine how we serve high volumes of customers during busy shows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pride and Prejudice the Musical”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A brilliant production with great acting and singing. We had lunch in the cafe which was most enjoyable. We booked our tickets some weeks before, and got in a bit of a mix up with the dates. Paul in the box office sorted us out, showing much patience for which we are very much obliged. Thank you Paul
Regards, Brian Lister

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brianlister333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Brian it was a pleasure having you with us at the Lyric, and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We are very proud of Pride & Prejudice the musical, and comments such as these make producing unique theatre like this show all worthwhile. So glad you enjoyed your meal with us as well.

You won't find a better advocate for our theatre than Paul at box office. We will make sure your feedback is passed on!

We hope to see you again soon at the Lyric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous building”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Try to book a visit here. The building is really worth seeing. Avoid the cafe though. It's like a Pret without the taste.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Londoner78698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback about the lyric theatre. We're so glad that you enjoyed visiting and thought so much of the building.

We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our cafe bar however. If you would be willing to take more time to discuss this matter, please contact on marketing@lyrictheatre.co.uk. We would really appreciate speaking to you in further detail, to see how we can improve our drinks, food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make it your number one visit in Belfast”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The lyric theatre is in a prime location over looking the beautiful river lagan
It always has something going on to interest all ages
You will see an amazing show with the cream of local actors performing every day except mondays .
Don't just see a performance , take a tour of the award winning building .
Or grab a coffee and a the best caramel square ive ever tasted
Sunday s are great you can get a ten pound theatre ticket and have brunch over looking the water .heaven

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyric_Theatre, Public Relations Manager at Lyric Theatre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experiences when visiting the lyric. We agree with all your comments! Hope to see you again soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyric Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Lyric Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing