We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Tasty, Friendly Service”
Review of Muriels Cafe Bar

Muriels Cafe Bar
Ranked #2 of 65 Coffee & Tea in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
West Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Tasty, Friendly Service”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I'd just arrived in Belfast and stumbled on this place whilst walking around. The bar staff were so helpful and friendly. Great welcome. Great atmosphere and very tasty food.
We'll be back. Thank you!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglespirit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    124
    19
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“tasty food”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you are in town and need somewhere cosy and quirky for food this is the place for you Food was good (not fantastic) I had a chicken wrap and my friend had the curry. Well presented and extremely tasty. I would say the wrap was a little dry could have done with some more sauce. Food, service and atmosphere all makes it with a return visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacks024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Somewhere a decent bar got lost up it's own rear end”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Been here a lot - mostly to drink rather than eat. It is hit and miss, when it is good it is great, when it is bad it really is dreadful.

It is pretentious but you know what you're getting when you walk in - if it was chocolae, it would lick itself. It's LGBT friendly obviously although often there can be an almost anti-hetero male vibe, especially from certain staff on a consistent basis. It can be great if you get seats upstairs to sit for a whole night and it can be great sitting outside on a warm night.

However, the staff are the weak point. Attitude is common, service is lacking more often than not. There's a lack of basic bar skills on display and even basic drinks can be a disaster. Cocktails are a waste of time.

Easter 2010 we tried to get a gin martini - a fairly common request especally for a place that claims to serve premium gin cocktails - but were told "no, for stock control reasons". Eh? A friend protested this was nonsense and was threatened with getting thrown out. If we ordered gin and martini separately would it be served?

Anyway, rarely frequented it over last year (maybe half a dozen times) until a few weeks ago. Gin martini was ordered and same reason given so we promptly left. It really is beyond stupid.

Food was always okay in here, not as good as places close by but acceptable if not too competitively priced.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love this place!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Im very disappointed with the negative reviews of this extremely quirky bar and restaurant! I have visited it many times and each time I fall in love with it just a little bit more! Its the most unique bar in Belfast, so adorable, elegant, and pretty. The food is just beautiful, all fresh, prepared in house! Its slightly expensive for pub grub, but its worth every penny and more. The cup cakes are gorgeous and a lovely touch. Ive always found the staff to be lovely, particularly our last server, Julie, who was very pleasant, talkative and knowledgeable, dispite managing many tables at once! Its well worth a visit, if you like something a but different, its most certainly a change from pub's traditional fish and chips type food! Cannot reccommend it enough!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine--xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very hit and miss...when it is a hit, it's great”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have been going here fairly regularly since it opened.

It really is hit and miss. I have had great meals and also woeful. Some of the staff make the most amazing cocktails and others will make the most basic drinks wrongly. It can be painful to watch.

The best time to go is week days after work - get place to hang out and the staff are able to give good service

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveFood28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriels Cafe Bar also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Muriels Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing