We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Irish!”
Review of Avoca

Avoca
Ranked #42 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Description: This is an independent department store with a cafe restaurant upstairs
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very Irish!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A Belfast native met us at AVOCA for lunch and it was filled with many locals on their lunch hour. Gift shop and good food. They call it “Belfast’s Most Interesting Store and Café”. Very Irish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    176
    48
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ladies who lunch”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Avoca is both my daughters favourite place to lunch in town...
Always busy with a good buzz about it . Food is superb with plenty of veggie options.
Desserts are also to die for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impeccable!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Such an amazing place for takeaway and sit in! Two different options (table service or canteen type counter service). Their foodhall for takeaway downstairs is so alluring and if I ever walk past, I cannot help buy scones... caramel squares, brown soda, brownies, lasagne, chicken broccoli bake... I could go on, but Id give you the menu. It may be a bit pricier but the quality of it is totally worth it. The berry scones are my favourite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakedbymatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

10 of us went to Avoca for breakfast while in town on a girly trip. initially we thought we weren't going to be accommodated - dining room was v busy, but Shane managed to squeeze us in. we've eaten at Avoca on previous trips and not been disappointed. Even given the size of our group and how busy the restaurant was, service was prompt, efficient and friendly. Shane looked after us very well and even managed to cope with 10 individuals paying separately. Avoca is definitely a pleasant place to eat with well priced, good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful scones and jams!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wanted something to take back to my hotel for a quick breakfast before heading out sight-seeing the next morning. A couple of Scones and a pot of their raspberry jam was just what I needed. So good, I stopped in again the next day to pick-up a pick-me-up in the late afternoon in the form of a coffee and luscious chocolate square. So brilliant I went looking for them when I visited Dublin 2 weeks later!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karkel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avoca also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Avoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing