We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday dinner”
Review of Robert Stewarts

Robert Stewarts
Ranked #90 of 1,048 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: ROBERT STEWARTS SPIRIT GROCERS is located on a narrow country road that threads its way out of the leafy glades of south Belfast via the Upper Malone precinct. The road continues onwards in the general direction to the town of Lisburn which in recent years was decreed a CITY. The actual premises is a primarily two zone affair.A public bar of which no decent pub should be devoid of. This coupled to a nooks and crannies lounge bar handsomely ajoined with a slightly more formal dinning facility called the company room.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“birthday dinner”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

the staff were friendly and helpful, food was excellent and not too expensive. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable dinner, would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank einybaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, June 11, 2015
" So So Sorry" only replying to your exquisite insertion on old Trippy re our little country pub on the 6 August 2013 many thanks.
Cheers einybaldy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    50
    12
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dromara Co.down
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had been a while since i was at Bobs but was back last week for lunch. LOVE THIS PLACE, the surroundings are great, the staff were good, the owner is some boy and the craic good. The main was HUGE and really good, the lemon and mango cheesecake to die for.
Wont leave it so long to be back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NevBDromara_Co_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Front Office Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Response to insertion dated 8th July entitled "Lovely place"
Lovely you thank you for your positive vibes.
Wrong we do get it on occasion and hands up when we do
that said we are fairly close to what it says on the tin very
much most of the time.
Much obliged
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful meal as usual. Never had a bad meal here and the ambience is just right. Lots of Reserved Tables but we managed to get a table in the main bar. We prefer here to main dining room. Not too long a wait for our meal to come. The staff were efficient and friendly especially the bar staff. We didn't have a dessert. Mind you the choice was very tempting. There is also a list of specials on screen in bar so you have plenty of choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureenBallynahinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Front Office Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Management response to insertion dated 24/6/2013 entitled "Another lovely meal "
Thank you Maureen from Ballynahinch for your positive remarks and observations garnered upon your recent visit to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
750 reviews
530 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“A good meal in this great pub.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great pub in Lambeg, just a bit out the road from Belfast proper. A great place to stop on your way in or out just for a pint. Had a chicken filet sandwich with all the toppings which was massive, but more importantly tasty and well prepared. The couple next to me were having a steak special which I would have ordered but it came with a bottle of wine and I was driving. I had food envy nevertheless. Excellent pint of Guinness, very smooth. A good stop but don't even dream of bringing anyone younger than 18 within 100 yards of the place- a policy that appears to be strictly enforced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Front Office Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Acknowledgement of patron experience at our premises dated 13th June
Sometimes here at Bobs when we have a glowing appraisal bestowed upon our efforts we just ever so slightly hope that folk who are ardent Tripadvisor * Trekkies* do not suspect a touch of nepotism from some well meaning regular etc.
This would not be an honourable endeavour as any right thinking * Trekkie * should know.
All the afore said many thanks to the folk who gave us a glowing report.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Fajitas, but service a little slow!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited Bob Stewart's last week on a lovely sunny evening for food. We were seated in the the newer looking restaurant part, which lacked a little atmosphere as it was just the three of us in that area. Staff were pleasant and efficient. We orded mains only and unfortunately I feel that we had to wait a little too long for this (25 minutes) - I wouldn't like to know how long you'd wait on a busy sunday afternoon! Anyway, when the mains came they were worth the wait. I ordered chicken fajitas and the portion size was extremely generous. The tortillas came separately as did the dips so you could make up your own as you went along. Absolutely delicious. The other 2 in the party went for the Bob's Beef Burger (lots of toppings) and weren't disappointed. We were checked regularly throughout out dinner and after. I would say that there needs to be a little more clarification on the menu over the plain beef burger/bob's burger - there didn't seem to be any mention of a distinction. We were very hungry when we arrived and the long wait seemed unecessary. We also wanted to sit outside and enjoy a drink but the outside seating area was limited despite the beautiful grounds of this place! Other than that, this is a beautiful restaurant with charming surroundings, helpful staff and top notch food. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle_M7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobStewartsBelfast, Public Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Review on 10th June entitled " Excellent Fajitas " reply & acknowledgement.
This insertion is on the money re our food offering here at "Bobs" and many thanks
for that. We concur with your observation that there is NOT enough of a distinction twix our normal beef burger and our "go for a lie down and doze "BOBS BURGER" as displayed on our menu.
The understandable slight angst created by the 25 minutes it took to bring those said beef burgers to the table is power for the course ( if you pardon the pun) in that to cook processed meat from its raw state to the food & hygiene standard required takes 20 minutes and although sympathetic to the hunger pangs in the old tummy of these most gracious of guests our kitchen team did it by the book.
Regarding the NOT unreasonable comment about a sense of atmosphere being absent - well this can be levelled at many restaurant dining areas when NO other HOMO SAPIENS are present.
On the matter of no seating outside in our miniscule paved area at the front of our premises - well this is kinda intentional as we have found on numerous occasions that folk arrive (of the none dining in mind elk) who wish to sit out front in all their pavement style splendour sunning themselves and are not just that conducive to a dining experience for those who actually come to our premises to primarily eat and like to gaze out of our ample windows into the not unpretty garden.
To conclude we appreciate these folks' views, many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Stewarts also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Robert Stewarts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing