We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now relocated as Babu's Sonali-Bombay Brasserie”
Review of Sonali

Sonali
Ranked #471 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lisburn Road
Description: Babu is a well known chef in Belfast has 20 years experience in Indian Restaurant.and make all dishes make indivisible to suit gusts plater.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Now relocated as Babu's Sonali-Bombay Brasserie”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The old Sonall has moved down the Lisburn Road and is now Babu's Sonali-Bombay Brasserie. It is a slightly different restaurant so merits a new review. I like the relocation and, as always, the staff really hospitable and the food good. Pity the menu looks a bit scrappy as it doesn't do justice to the food.
The chef recommends Chicken Jal Jal but we were unable to get any insights from the staff as to what it consisted of except that the word "ingredients" was repeated many times. That description needs to be improved, particularly if someone has food allergies or strong dislikes. Nevertheless, I would recommend the Jal Jal which struck me as having something sweet in it - I'd never had it before but it was very nice and plentiful too. Small point, but improvement required in the need to avoid diners having to ask for knives and forks - we had to ask so that we could eat the starter, and also later for the main course.
TIp: always worth checking Living Social and Groupon for discounts which are often available.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrGordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    1
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and great wine ”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Just had some amazing flavourful butter chicken. This restaurant was randomly found while walking down the street.
Walking into this restaurant which has a great atmosphere was the host/waiter/owner who greeted us and sat is down.
We ordered the butter chicken which came with rice and vegetable curry which came with naan. We ended up ordering another rice to help complete the meal. The butter chicken was creamy with a fruity taste to it which I've never found in any butter chicken In Toronto. The vegetable curry was delicious also, although I prefer mains with meat In it. Staying in Botanic area allowed us to return home in 10 minutes.
I highly recommend this place In beautiful Belfast.

Helpful?
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great meal and good service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just been to this restaurant with my husband and had another great dining experience once again,starters and mains were delicous and plentiful.Would recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridget l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in Belfast”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have been 4 times for dinner and tried a variety of dishes. Always tasty and good service. They also offer early-bird deals and lunchtime offers which appear good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NIlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Went to Sonali with Treat Ticket voucher. Food was lovely, good size portions with plenty of meat, sauce and fresh veg in the curry. Very fresh and tasty. Staff very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loulouok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonali also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Sonali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing