We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Naz

Cafe Naz
Ranked #201 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Loved this restaurant very much.....staff were very helpfull and attentive with well mannerd.we were group of ppl had a nice deal about £21 per head recommended by one pf staff.A lots of dishes include your starter and corkage.Food was excellent...highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    27
    15
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stale poppadoms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

There's a head waiter (or possibly manager) who's rude to his staff and impatient with customers. We were asked to move table, which isn't a problem, but his attitude really stank. He told us we "needed" to move; then barked an order to a waitress to get another table set. One of us was left with starter cutlery for our main course.
The poppadoms we were given were slightly soft and smelt a little bit stale. Still edible and enjoyable; but made me wonder what attitude they had to the food they stored and served.
Some time after ordering, a waitress came over and (slightly unclearly) asked if we'd ordered starters. We assured her our order had already been taken. A minute later; Basil came to our table and rather confrontationally demanded to know why we had told the waitress we had ordered starters when we hadn't?!
When our mains arrived, the waiter couldn't tell what each dish was so wasn't sure who to give each to; and he just handed out the different types of rices randomly.
We found the portions were a bit mean. They were filling, and well cooked and very tasty; but the way the food was served made it really look like we were getting reduced portions.
Later in the meal our new friend stood by our table, and focusing his gaze over to the corner of the restaurant, bellowed "empty glass!" as if he had spotted an iceberg or a sniper or something.

"Corkage" for beer you bring yourself is rather expensive. If you buy big bottles it's not so bad; but we'd brought nice small bottles of IPA. Dish prices do not include rice. Prices aren't too bad; but extras like this make a reasonable meal cost seem really mean.

Overall, this is a perfectly OK place to go and satisfy an urge for a curry; but there's so many great Indian eateries in the town that I really cannot recommend this one

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GobBluthComeOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor and rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

trust me i try lots of restaurants in the belfast area and this place is very misleading they put a takeaway menu in the window and you might think you are getting a reasonable price but when you go inside the price is different the staff are very very rude and sorta try and force you into where you should sit even if you don't like the seat very small portions and the meat had too much fat when i went to pay for the bill i ask to pay separate i was looked at like a homeless dog in the street these people forget that this is the uk and not india if we are gonna eat in your restaurants at least show some respect to the customer

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not unfriendly service but could be better. Portions are huge - had to get a "doggy bag". There are better Indian restaurants in Belfast - only advantage with this one is that you can bring your own wine which reduces the bill although £43 for 2 I felt was still a bit steep for the quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Was here a few years ago but I think it's been refurbished since then and possibly under new management

Very relaxed atmosphere and decor inside, it is quite small but I think they have an upstairs too, plenty of space for comfort though

Service was first class, they couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier from start to finish

Food was delicious, the presentation alone is something you'd normally see in a higher priced restaurant. Great selection including some fish dishes. Everything tasted fantastic and portion sizes were just right, we got well fed without being stuffed.

Bring your own is good and the corkage charge is reasonable.

We will be back for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Naz also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Naz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing