We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull, lacking atmosphere.”

The Washington bar & restaurant
Ranked #152 of 1,048 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dull, lacking atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

No atmosphere, lights too bright, undesirable clientelle, abrupt bar staff.
Had high hopes for this place but disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skyline181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    97
    27
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good strawberry daiquiris”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

lovely cocktails and always so busy.
can be hard to get a seat but lovely atmosphere and the interior design is to die for, really cosy and well presented.
staff are nice and quick to serve, wish theyre card machine wasnt at the far end of the bar so you have to leave your drinks to go and put your pin in & come back, then again if that is the only problem they must be doing something right! really enjoyed it, will have to try the food sometime too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FAB FOOD”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Eat there last Thursday steak night, best steaks ever. Delicious food to be highly recommended. Girls also cleaned their plates also. Food of the standard seen in top restaurants. Wine that was free with the steaks was a good quality wine and tasted delicious. Restaurant, clean,warm and welcoming. Really would come back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thederg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Here with a client for lunch. Around the corner from their offices and it was packed when we arrived just before 1pm on a wet Wednesday . Waited at the bar until a table became available. Old fashioned looking pub with dark wood panelling on the walls. There is an upstairs to the premises but did not see that part. Service efficient; although the chairs were comfortable they were very heavy old style armchairs and the area where we were sat was very dimly lit.
Food perfectly acceptable. One fish and chips for me (very nice with mushy peas and tartare sauce) one chicken burger and one italian style sandwich with salad (cannot remember what was on the sandwich) the food plus two white wines and a pint of lager came to just over £35 . Would I go again when in Belfast? Probably.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rammyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chef a Gem Management a Horror”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Was here for Party and food on 13/10/12! Food was fabulous well worth the money compliments to the chef. Unfortunately this was overshadowed by the rude and petulant manager who behaved like a bold 3 year old who should be put on the naughty step to which his backside would stick as the floors were oddly filthy at the Washington. I understand we were 25 mins late and had to forego our starters but the strops and misinformation we were met with regarding queries which arose during our visit tarnished this establishment.

Also having to dodge a group of women attacking another with the heels of their stilettos was horrendous!

Recommend you avoid this place and hope the chef moves to a friendlier and more professional establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanieburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWashington, General Manager at The Washington bar & restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed the food as our chefs do put in a lot of effort, but we are disappointed your full experience wasn't good and you had problems with our restaurant manager.
please let us explain what happened on our side.

The table was booked for 7:30pm, we tried contacting the organiser to arrange the pre order but the mobile number was out of service. the table was change to 8pm that afternoon with us still under the impression there was a pre order being sent. a few of your party came at 7:30 (who have dined with us a few times before) then the rest of the party arrived from the hotel after 8:30, by the time everybody settled down to their seats the orders were being sent to the kitchen just before 9pm and this is the unfortunate reason we couldn't offer starters or desserts as our kitchen closes at 8:45 aiming to have all food sent out for 9pm so everything is cleaned down for the Dj starting.

our carpet is a problem and we are fully aware this is needing replaced & is scheduled for a new wooden floor to be fitted to the restaurant & Dj area on Sunday 28th of october.

again we are very sorry you didn't have a great night out with us, our restaurant manager is usually very professional but we will have a chat with him and the General Manager to find out what went wrong and why the communication with yourself and the restaurant manager on the night wasn't clearer and more professional, to insure a problem like this never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Washington bar & restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Washington bar & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing