We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, pedestrian fare”
Review of Drennans - CLOSED

Drennans
Price range: $9 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Queen's Quarter
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, pedestrian fare”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I visited Drennan's as part of a large group. The menu is pricey, with starters in the £7 range and mains around £14-17, plus sides at £3 each. That would be justified if the food was excellent, but it isn't. I paid £14 for a plate with some grilled white fish, a few boiled new potatoes and a handful of green beans. It tasted OK, but it was overpriced, unimaginative, pedestrian fare. The ingredients are also cheap, e.g. pre-prepared salad leaves from a bag and a few boring supermarket cheeses on the cheese board.

I don't know how Drennan's can get away with charging what it does for such bland offerings. If the prices were £6-7 for a main course it would probably be what you would expect from a restaurant in that price bracket.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SlithyT0ves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    10
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little Gem!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Passed this place more times than i can remember. Finally decided to pay a visit base primarily on the fact its BYO. And with the cost of eating out today requiring a tightening of belts this restaurant was exactly what was required. However had to loosen the belt afterwards!. All i can say is this little oasis in the middle of rush hour traffic is a haven from the hustling bustling world outside. i had to pinch myself a few times as I felt i had been transported to some french eaterie in the middle of a Paris. This restaurant is very cosy and intimate and I would highly recommend it for a date. The food was lovely, tried Haloumi griled with the baby leaf salad and it was very tasty. Had the duck to follow which was very pleasing also. And at 12.95 for two courses i thought it was very keenly priced. The waitress with her impecable professionalism and attention to customers, even though she was on her own was truly worth her weight in gold. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 748frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Used to be lovely but something has gone wrong for this place - food was awful, service was inadequate and 3 bottles of wine that we did not drink "disappeared" and we did not get it back!
Fillet steak was burnt and like something you would buy in iceland, the goats cheese tarlet had no flavour, the chips looked like they were frozen chips and it still cost us £40 a head and only 3 out of the 8 people took dessert! Very disappointed it ruined my big night out with the girls.

Something has changed as this place used to be on my top 10 list!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mc2661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing evening, friendly attentive service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Decided to try Drennans as we had no place booked and lengthy queues elsewhere on Saturday night.

Staff were very friendly and attentive throughout the evening. Willing to engage in conversation and gave good advice on the menu. We both had the grilled Sea Bass which was perfectly cooked and accompanied by an enhancing sauce. Vegetables could have been a bit more exciting but the meal was tasty and satisfying.

We finished with Bailie's coffees which were nice and hot, just right to linger over after the lovely food.

The best thing about Drennans was that we were not rushed from our seats to make way for a second sitting. We were encouraged to enjoy the meal and the ambiance of the place.

Once again the staff were attentive and friendly throughout the evening and really added to the experience.

We certainly look forward to dining there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningdiner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This small quaint and gorgeous restaurant is a must on a budget, the food is fabulous and you can bring your own wine, just a £2.50 corkage, well worth a visit, the early bird is excellent value for money, delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drennans also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing