We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A late Review!”
Review of Vagabonds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vagabonds
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A late Review!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a great place, my mate had made a mistake with the booking date and they changed it with no issue and this was during the world fire and police games, so they were busy.
When we got there the staff were really friendly.
Best way to put it is this place rocks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    88
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
60
134
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the first hostel I ever stayed in, and I had an incredible experience. I stayed there a week or so before Christmas and I loved the sense of community and family that was in the atmosphere at Vagabonds. The staff would hang out and eat breakfast with us and go to pubs with us at night. I loved watching movies and playing games in the common room -- the staff gave us free chocolate, tea, and beer! Breakfast was free, and the hostel was in a perfect location. We could walk to anywhere that we wanted to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocobubaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

2nd time we have stayed at this hostel for a night. We booked out a whole dorm as it was a girls night away. The staff are so friendly (we loved fun time Frankie) who greeted us on arrival and helped us throughout our stay. The hostel is clean and there's even a great breakfast selection. Its really close to town and the black cab taxi tour that they offer if first class, would definitely recommend it. Our taxi driver Tom was brilliant. The toilets and showers are kept clean, really cant fault it. I would really recommend this hostel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Careen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the hostel that backpackers have been searching for. There are tons of common rooms that encourage fun and conversation. The staff are friendly and sociable, location is near perfect, great Wifi connection, and breakfast is free. I stayed in the cheapest multi-bed room and never had to wait for a bathroom and always had plenty of hot water.

Due to all of the fun everyone is having, it can get a bit loud at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank II____Jen____II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Of the 40 - 50 hostels I've stayed in over my backpacking years, this is one of the best. The staff are friendly, funny and helpful. The bathrooms are nice, the rooms are kept well. The layout of the dining & living area, and the beer garden (with pool table & table tennis table) makes this hostel extremely social.

Special mention for Frankie's [--] cooking (4 pounds for dinner every night!) and Kasia's assistance with all my needs. And Chris, Richie and Mete for chats, movies, pool and good nights out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Vagabonds for a few days while visiting Belfast. It's a well-priced, lively hostel and has a very good atmosphere with really nice staff. A good breakfast is provided and the location (very near Queens University) has a lot to offer in terms of great value bars and restaurants. The room was clean and well-maintained. The only downside I would have is that it could get quite noisy in the evening (we were in the room closest to the main living room), but that tends to be the case for most hostels with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Cheap, clean, stylish, friendly. I stayed in a 14-bed mixed dorm, no problems. Several bathrooms. Cereal and toast for breakfast. Good WiFi. Checkout at 11AM. They kept my driving license as a deposit on the key. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabonds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabonds

Property: Vagabonds
Address: 9 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vagabonds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing