We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well taken care of in Belfast”
Review of Vagabonds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vagabonds
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Well taken care of in Belfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very lucky to get this hostel. It was Pride weekend and every dorm in the city was booked. I think on any weekend, it would pay to plan ahead and make a reservation. The staff was very welcoming. They work hard to keep the place clean and in good order. There is a patio out front and at the back with a pool table and ping pong. The location is a short walk to the city centre, and an even closer walk to the Botanical Garden. While in Belfast, you must go on a Black Taxi Tour. It is a fascinating account of the city's troubled history. Afterwards, there are plenty of pubs to explore. Also be sure to check out the Giant's Causeway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    91
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
60
136
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A great location...a short walk and you are in the city centre. The staff were really friendly and offered lots of great tips about things to do in and near Belfast. The free breakfast is awesome and all bathrooms are super clean. Overall a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great place, great staff, all around win. Staff love engaging with the guests, and the facilities are nice. Offer free spices and cooking oil for guests and fruit at breakfast even! Could not have had a better experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed one night..first time staying here...was a great hostel..ive stayed in hostels around the world over many years....staff very nice and a great place to meet people if you wish to. Mostly younger international backpackers as expected but also a few age 40+ ( like myself !) staying also. If you are on a budget or want a hostel i can think of no better place in Belfast !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yer_man_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Im not suprised that Vagabonds has placed 7th in the world. This place is stunning. A couple things right off: book the taxi tour and the day trip to giant's causeway via the hostel.. i believe its cheaper and at any rate, its easier. free breakfast, free wifi, movies, books and games in the common room. free coffee and tea all day. table tennis and pool table. and laundry facilities!!! now to the details. First off location, just far enough outside the city centre to be SO cheap (£13 a night in a shared dorm), only about a 10 minute walk to the main bus station, ten more to really be in the city. At night it's good because it is close to quite a few pubs and restaurants that are open late. Second, cleanliness... The bathrooms and showers are immaculate (only downside, like someone else said, they ran out of toilet paper a lot, but as soon as I told someone they came up and stocked it) and there are many of them so you can always find an unoccupied one. Best hostel bathrooms of any place I've stayed. Third, this place is gorgeous. The building itself has these beautiful old fixtures and crown moulding, placed next to new contemporary art. It makes for the absolute coolest vibe. One of my favorite things was just looking at all the art on the walls. Fourth, the rooms are nice, poor ventilation but its an old building, thats not their fault.. we just cranked open a window. the beds are really comfortable for a hostel and there is a HUGE cage under the bed for storage, although i left my iphone charger plugged in the entire time, someone else in the room left her ipad out on the bed, guys left their backpacks with expensive tents and no one touched anything or complained about stealing or moving their things. Everyone tried really hard to be quiet while coming in and out, and they have lamps affixed to the beds so that you can have a light and not turn on the whole room. there are also tons of plugs in the room which was awesome! Fifth and finally, the people and the vibe. With the way vagabonds has a large central table, two different common rooms, and an outside patio with seating, it really fosters a friendly environment, usually when we go to a city we go out in town every night, we stayed at the hostel with a huge group of people almost every night, just drinking and hanging out. So fun! The staff are super friendly and helpful and I felt welcome the entire time. I love vagabonds! Thank you for the amazing time in belfast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brnnfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a great night at this cosy place with lots of friendly and helpful staff.
Excellent free wifi and relax activities are provided.
The room is not spacy and not to ventilated but it was ok for me because it was clean.
Bathrooms are clean both upstairs and downstairs.

Room Tip: It's not a big hostel, so any rooms might be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As everyone else has said, the staff are super friendly. And I don't mean in a fake smile, 'have a nice day' way, but in a genuine desire to help and make your time in Belfast the best it can be way.

I stayed in a private room. Small but clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were alright and good facilities.

Did I mention friendly?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabonds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabonds

Property: Vagabonds
Address: 9 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vagabonds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing