We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were more interested in themselves than us”
Review of Molly's Yard

Molly's Yard
Ranked #15 of 1,060 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“They were more interested in themselves than us”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found the food to be about average in terms of variety and quality.. The servers seemed to be more interested in chatting amongst themselves than in attending to our needs. They were very casual in their approach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    164
    47
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Straight into my NI top 5 without question”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit and I absolutely will be going back. Everything from the food and service through to the decor and value was first class. My wife and I were going to a play that night so ate dinner early off the daytime bistro menu but the quality and choice bettered many a la carte menus in the town. The small, cozy downstairs was lovely and intimate to eat in. The service excellent and polite throughout. I think the best part was the value for money. 1 starter, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 1 bottle of red and a coffee + tip for roughly 50.00.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestSDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big disapointment”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Admitedly this wasnt our first choice for dinner, but when we arrived and were seated, our initial impressions were good. The menu seemed a little limited but we selected our main courses and then waited just over an hour for them. Even this wasnt a problem as we were happy to sit over our drinks and no-one seemed to be getting their meals in a hurry.
My chicken arrived and was served on a potatoe/vegetable rosti which was horrible, just seemed to be left overs mashed together in order to use them. The courgette and aubergine mix was luke warm. My partners belly pork was mostly fat. We soldiered on with dessert, but the stout/chocolate icecream was definately not to my taste.
Has some great reviews but we definately wont be returning!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant with funky local beers”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great little find near to Queen's university. Had standard fare of burger and fish & chips, which were funkily done. Brilliant selection of local beers, aptly suggested by the bar staff. Would definitely return if I was in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had A lovely meal here. A real find near Queens University. They have some lovely craft beers here and the food is all locally sourced. Had a tasty burger, but the others at my table were all happy with the varity of what they got.
Will defenitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markymark999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Yard also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Molly's Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing