We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fuss free hotel for a quick break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fuss free hotel for a quick break”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for a three night city break. Ideal location central to shopping area and attractions. Can walk to most sights, but buses plentiful and taxi services are just outside the door!
We arrived at 10am and were able to check in straight away. The room was clean & fresh. The bed was comfortable for sleeping. There was air con, t.v and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom is a self contained pod in one corner of the room and we found this was perfectly adequate & it was fitted with a good shower. The breakfast each morning was good; self service with a reasonable selection of hot foods, breads, cereals, yogurts, fruit, cold meats etc. It appeared to be very busy around 8am - 8.30am each morning. This hotel is for people wanting a fuss free base. Communal facilities are minimal and there is no exterior hotel space for guest use (personally, this was not a problem). The bar and restaurant service are always available and service is good if a little slow at times as available staff can become easily swamped if busy. Internet access is available, for a charge, by the bar. The staff were always friendly, helpful and took time to give good service.
Across the road is a pub which also offers a small off licence. There are many pubs and bars nearby, but we recommend going out of the hotel and heading across the road to the right of the car parks to Maddens Bar. This offered excellent hospitality, good beer, friendly people and some informal Irish music played by locals gathering together.
To answer earlier comments, darkness came early, but we felt comfortable outside at any time of day or night and shabby streets are a part of any city. Belfast and Castle street area was always friendly and welcoming both from local people and local businesses.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. It is a central city location; this is not a hotel noted for its views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassett163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and that our hotel is situated in a central location and very near to all the bars and restaurants. Thanks for your feedback and recommendation. I’ll pass on your comment to our team about their friendly demeanour! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Regards
Vikrant Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    697
    274
    85
    29
See reviews for
200
659
154
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel recently. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was in a good location to explore the city - we were able to walk everywhere from it. Only real faults with the hotel is that you have to pay extra for parking and wifi. They have a reduced price for parking in a local carpark. Wifi is charged at 5 pounds for 24 hour access. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie0582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it really matters to us that you enjoy your time and that every aspect of your stay meets your expectations. I am sorry to her that you were not satisfied with the parking and wifi.
We do offer an executive rate which includes wifi and breakfast from £55. I hope that given this information you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Belfast.

Kind Regards

Vikrant Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First time we had stayed here. We couldn't find fault with it. It was clean, warm, and comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful and we enjoyed the buffet style breakfast on offer.
We found it central to everything we wanted to do and see so all in all well done Ibis keep up the good work. We shall definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are glad to hear that your stay with us was relaxing and that we exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated we have a superb team here who are committed to ensuring our guest enjoy their time with us. They all will be delighted to hear your comments. Thanks so much for your review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Vikrant Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent three nights at this hotel on a Newmarket Holidays short break. Very well situated for city centre although area was a bit run down. Room was typical budget business hotel room, clean with nice big shower. Twin beds very narrow but comfortable. No hand towels despite several requests. There were only four coat hangers in the room one of which fell apart, on reporting this to reception the coat hanger was removed but not replaced. The breakfast area was rather small and crowded, staff were finding it difficult to keep up with replenishing food and plates etc. The staff were doing their best but we got the impression that they were overworked. We ate in the hotel one evening. Despite extensive menus displayed in the room there was only a choice of two mains available and the food was very mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night ,October 3rd 2012. Have Stayed there before on a few occasions. The staff were very friendly . Room on 3rd floor. was very comfortable and clean. Ordered sandwiches on arrival as we were rushing to a show ,and were served quickly .Tea and Sanwiches were under £10. Lovely Buffet Breakfast next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudyomagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night which was enough - when we got to our room on the 8th floor we were shocked but it - it looks like a caravan the bathroom is sooo soon and it wasnt very nice.
When we came back from a night out we went down to reception to go out & have a smoke when we were stopped by the bouncers telling us we couldnt go out side for at least half an hour as there was too many people outside fighting etc - the location of the hotel isnt very nice and it doesnt seem very safe.
We order food when we got back into the hotel - chicken wings costed £6.90 when we took them back to the room to eat them they were black on the outside and freezing on the inside - you just couldnt eat.

Breakfast in the morning was very poor - so not worth the money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Claire S,

As a customer focused hotel, I am disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent stay here at Ibis Hotel, City centre.
I am sorry to see that you find not like our unique bathroom pods, I do suppose it is just up to individual taste.
As a city centre hotel, we do take our guest security very seriously.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues you stated in your review, please do not hesitate to contact me on 02890 238888 or h7232-gm@accor.com

Once again I am sorry that you did not find your stay at Ibis Hotel city Centre, Belfast pleaseant and enjoyable but do hope you will give us the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Vikrant Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 972 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Belfast City Center hotel at the beginning of September 2012 on a trip thru Northern Ireland. I arrived on a train from Dublin at the Great Victoria Street Station and simply walked out the main entrance and turned left then walked 15 minutes to the hotel - the hotel sign is actually visible when exiting the station.

The hotel was, in my opinion, new/modern and clean but basic. If you've ever been to an Ibis hotel you already know what to expect. The hotel is in a marginal area but I never felt threatened. Castle Street is a relatively busy street that leads right into the heart of the downtown shopping area and City Hall.

Breakfast was available for 8 Pounds but wasn't included in my room rate so I can't comment on the quality. There was an Internet PC in the lobby to send e-mails at a rate of 1 Pound for 20 minutes but there was no printer.

The rooms were small, the bed hard and the pillows mushy. The rooms weren't as quiet as I would have liked; I heard doors slamming, toilets flushing and the showers of adjacent rooms. I particularly found the bathroom fan from the neighboring room both loud and annoying. The room included a flat screen TV, teakettle, full-length mirror, IKEA furniture, shampoo, hairdryer and blackout curtains that really worked to keep out the early morning sun.

I left on a Stena Line ferry to Scotland and was able to take public transit - there is a bus #96 that leaves from Upper Queen Street for only 1.80 Pounds direct to the ferry terminal and takes about 30 minutes. If you don't have a lot of luggage this is a very easy and cheap way to get to the ferry.

I thought the room small, noisy and the bed a little hard but I'd still recommend this hotel if looking for a place to stay in Belfast. The hotel was located close to the train/bus station, the building was new and the room clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisbcc, General Manager at Ibis Belfast City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mark Olsen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.
As a customer focused hotel, your feedback is vital for us to maintain a good quality of service.

I am glad to see theat the hotel facilities, location, suitable for your trip.
In terms of the internet - printer issue, we can and do print off documents for guests from the reception, all you need to do is email through to us.

I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy the room comforts and that you were disturbed by surrounding rooms. As the hotel reception is open 24 hours, I would always reccommend that our guest do make the staff aware of any issues so that we can rectify any issues to ensure your stay is a pleaseurable and relaxing one.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your review and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Vikrant Tyagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Belfast City Centre

Property: Ibis Belfast City Centre
Address: 100 Castle Street, Belfast BT1 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Belfast
#21 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#23 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 124 bedroom Ibis hotel located downtown within Belfast City Centre. All rooms en-suite and non smoking. Free wifi in lobby and lounge. Secure discounted car parking is available at City Car Park throughout the week at a discounted rate of GBP 6 for 24 hours. Close to shopping district, business, entertainment and cultural attractions. Odyssey, Titanic Quarter, Victoria Square, Opera House and Waterfront. Breakfast 4am to midday. Café and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing