We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant near to Marine Guest House, Belfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jharna

The Jharna
Ranked #198 of 1,041 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lisburn Road
Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good restaurant near to Marine Guest House, Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This first class Indian restaurant in Belfast is situated near the Marine Guest House (where we stayed). The service was friendly and efficient. The meal was tasty although the dessert was disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kassemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    42
    17
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Delicious food and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a great experience eating in The Jharna last week. The menu is extensive with a great selection of veggie and non veggie options and the complimentary poppdums with dips are a nice touch.
I can highly recommend the Tarka dhal and chilli tikka masala, which were efficiently served by friendly and competent staff. The decor is relaxing and contemporary and the complimentary liquors at the end of the meal finished the evening nicely. Hope to return very soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went back after many years away recently as I used to be a regular. Noted a huge change in quality and gave it a miss for a few years.
Emjoyed the atmosphere and food had certainly improved, but still missed the Jharna of the golden days when it wowed me every time!
Wouldn't avoid it but wouldn't stop on way to better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazzzzzzing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

this is the best indian in ireland no scratch that the world !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the staff r amazing they r so accomadating love everytime i vist. i cant tell you how much this place rocks !!!!!!! its a must when in belfast dont let the enterance stop you !! the interior is beautiful and the food is to die for!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ak20121986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We dined at Jaharna based on several recommendations from locals. The facility was very modern and clean. Service was prompt and attentive. We asked several questions and received detailed answers and offers to prepare the dishes more to our liking. A big plus for this effort! Our meal was good and we enjoyed a well priced bottle of Sauvignon Blanc to accompany. Certainly I would recommend Jaharna to anyone in the area looking for a quality Indian meal. However, in comparison to truly great Indian food, I would have to rate this as good but not great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jharna also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Jharna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing