We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 course set menu disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhubarb

Rhubarb
Ranked #165 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British, Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 course set menu disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here as group of 5 and ordered from set menu of 3 courses for. £25. Food was ok. Main was very small. Desserts were good though. Service wasn't great and like below a 10% service charge was handwritten on the receipt and they had overcharged us. They also made a mistake with our order so I felt this was very cheeky to write this on. I doubt il be returning soon.

Helpful?
Thank abc_abc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    96
    21
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value with a lovely atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great value food thT is far from ordinary. My starter of goats cheese was delicious. Main courses were hearty and warming. Service was super with very pleasant staff. One drawback was that tables are quite close together and the night we were there a very loud, almost raucous works'party dominated the atmosphere. Staff were apologetic! Overall really worth a visit for contemporary food combined with BYO.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I ordered the burger and chips off the menu, it wasnt anything special at all for around £10. Was just a typical burger with about 7 chips on the side, pretty plain and Im pretty sure I would have got a nicer one at a chippy. Needs more on the plate - esp charging what they did. Friend ordered the fish and it was excellent. So a good honest place, lower the prices slightly and give a bit more to get a bigger crowd in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBigA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what food, what value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at about ten past 6, and the restaurant was pretty empty...turns out they had a party of 30 booked in for 7. The hostess and I "eyed" each other up and figured we could both make it work. So glad we did! (We were done at ten minutes to 7...not necessarily the pace I'd like but our two kids aged 7 and 9 thought it was perfect!)

Food was all around very good - we all happily ate off the prix fixe menu. The food was nicely presented and well-cooked. My only complaint was that it wasn't sufficiently seasoned: the dressing on the caesar salad was deliciously creamy but lacking in garlic, my mashed potatoes definitely needed more salt. I suppose it's much easier to add salt than take it away :)

Glad we grabbed two desserts for take away - the sticky toffee pudding was good (toffee was excellent), and I had a peanut butter "cheesecake" that was pretty phenomenal once all the flavours were combined!

To my "southern" wallet, £72 (or €85) for four two-course meals plus two desserts, of this caliber, is phenomenal value. We'd do well to get out of a restaurant at home for that, with kids eating off the children's menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mieslep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Almost a Pop-Up-Restaurant (In a Good Way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Happened upon this restaurant which was a short walk from our hotel, The Europa, and the manageress squeezed us in even though the place was really full and we didn't have a booking.

Seating is for only about thirty and it has a 'Bring Your Own Bottle' policy (although non-alcohol drinks are available). With an open kitchen this hideaway has great ambiance.

The menu is modern and varied with only a view carefully selected items.

My husband had a steak and I had the salmon. Our potions were generous and extremely delicious.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Rhubarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing