We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staf, very nice atmosphere in general.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lagan Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lagan Backpackers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice staf, very nice atmosphere in general.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at the Lagan Backpackers hostel for four days. It was a really nice experience and though it's a bit more expensive than other dorm rooms it's really worth it and you get a lot for the value. Thet serve free, delicious, breakfast! And free dinner, which is awesome if your on a tight budget, as we were.
I can definatly recomend it, dispite for some, kind of, awkward experiences with the man in charge and the really poor neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    115
    41
    30
    47
See reviews for
12
47
128
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed in a few hostels in my day and I have to say that Lagan's is one of the best. The staff was very friendly, the location is good, and the breakfast is the best around. The beds have great sheets - clean and without those little pilly things they get from being over washed. But for me the best thing about this hostel was that is was quiet. There was some fun going on in the evening for sure but being sick I just wanted to go to sleep and I could! No need for ear plugs or anything! I would totally stay in this hostel again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here with two friends while on a weekend visit to Belfast. Arriving at the hostel we were extremely skeptical considering the location was not in a central nor very friendly part of Belfast, but the owner was extremely kind and welcoming and quick to offer suggestions. Although very clean, this had to have been the worst bed I have ever slept on. Great free breakfast in the morning and good social scene. Certainly a place to go if you are looking to spend time in the hostel, not so much if you are just looking for a central place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am a bit surpriced about your review. As we are located in one of the best parts of Belfast(outside of family neighbourhoods). We are right in the middle of the Holylands. 50 meteres from Queens university. Where all the students live!
I guess we cant please every one. Sorry you were not satisfied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The perfect place to hang out and meet other backpackers. Everything was clean and the staff were all very nice. Not too big, not too small... also great prices! The free breakfast is more than the normal toast you would expect from most hostels and most nights you can get supper for 2 euros. I can't really think of any downsides

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMcCormick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during a recent trip to Belfast and I would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and we met lots of lovely people. It's not a party hostel but social which is what we wanted. You can also book tours at reception up to the Causeway and local Black Cab Tours. The 'cinema room' is pretty much a lounge with a screen, might have been nice to have 'movie nights' organized to make better use of the space. The location in the Uni area is fantastic with lots of cool local bars / restaurants (Mollys Yard and Maggie Mays were great) and you're only 15 mins walk from the City Centre. Our only complaint was the street noise, which kept us awake during the night...double glazing would have hugely helped this and the window in our room wasn't properly secured. It also didn't help that it was 'Freshers Week' so all the students were going a bit mad and the noise reflected this. Apart from the noise we had a great time here and would recommend it :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the best Hostel in Ireland, employees are fantastic, rooms aren't so spacious but are almost clean, we had free dinner 2 times (hamburgers and fries, pizza). If you like English breakfast is perfect for you.. And it's one of the best place to meet other travellers!

William, you're great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semper_Serpem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Probably my best hostel experience in over two months of travelling. It's in a great location (short walk to the centre), is very reasonably priced, and the rooms are perfect for backpacking. The free cooked breakfast is great along with the nightly BBQs. What really makes this place is the staff. The manager Steve is a living legend, and he has a great crew working for him. You really feel like part of a family when you stay here and everyone is encouraged to socialise and trade stories. The staff love to hang out which is very uncommon, particularly in bigger hostels. Long story short - book in here when you come to Belfast!

Room Tip: Room 4 is where it's at
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagan Backpackers

Property: Lagan Backpackers
Address: 121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast BT71HU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included is a FREE English Breakfast that includes Bacon, Sausage, egg, beans and toast. Or Porridge or scrambled eggs and bacon. Please note breakfast is strictly between 8 and 10 with no exceptions. All breakfast served only with coffee or tea. Lagan Backpackers is simply a large Belfast house that has been converted into a Backpackers Hostel; and it is owned and run by a South African guy who knows what backpackers want. Our high ratings are mostly due to the great attention and recommendations that you can expect from both myself and my staff. My idea for a great hostel is very simple: to make you feel at home. To give you a comfortable bed to sleep in, to keep the noise down after eleven to ensure a peaceful sleep and to make you feel so at home that you make new friends and enjoy Belfast as much as possible. We provide advice on all tours of Northern Ireland, and will only recommend tours that we have personally experienced. We advise that our customers do not pre-book tours before visiting as we find that some tour operators overcharge and do not provide the level of customer satisfaction that we expect for our guests. In addition to this, Lagan Backpackers hostel is very friendly to single travellers, as we go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. We are located minutes from the City Centre, the Lagan River and the picturesque Queens University campus; and mere moments away from the lively Botanic Avenue where there are many restaurants, shops, pubs and clubs for our customers to enjoy. Additionally, the Botanical Gardens that boast beautiful greenhouses and the famed Tropical Ravine is a short walk away, adjacent to the Ulster Museum. ** No groups, stag parties, hen parties or drunken weekends like Paddys day!! Please remember only for the 11,12,13,14 July I do not accept booking from people from the UK (England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales..Also no American or Canadian band members). This is only for the marching season. No refunds on deposits will be given and you will be turned away on arrival. No stag or hen parties or groups without prior permission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Lagan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing