We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply best review in belfast”
Review of Lagan Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lagan Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“simply best review in belfast”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

if you're staying in Belfast, pretty simple stay no where else!!!
William is the best host.
Amazing breakfast, dinner and other deals.
Great atmosphere, felt really safe and at home during the stay.
Plus... William was able to send me my charger when I lost it during my stay. Just little extra bonuses like this that you wouldn't expect for the price it really is amazing value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    115
    43
    31
    55
See reviews for
13
47
133
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lagan backpackers is located towards the south side of Belfast, very near to Queens University. It is a short trip to the city centre.

The hostel is a fun and welcoming place, within 5 minutes one will be well acquainted with staff and other guests. There is always something happening in the evenings so you'll never be stuck for a group of new people to hit the town with.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a good time at this hostel. We found that William the owner was ver hospitable and friendly, as were his other staff working there. He was able to point us in the right direction in terms of sites, and never tried to sell us any tours. However, the tour that he did recommend we went on, and it was fantastic- highly recommend the black cab tours of the murals. The breakfast was great! The hostel was also clean.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evewbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

It was for sure one of the best hostel in Ireland. Not because it was clean, shower was hot, enough space in the room, incl. breakfast, wifi or thinks like that.. No! Because the athmosphere! You really feel welcome and get instructions, where you are and where to go, what to see. Meet people and the staff and the owner from the hostel! Had funny, interesting, talkative nights with you! Thank's to everybody!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriskaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lagan Backpackers is a small hostel with a great atmosphere and really friendly staff. When we checked in William the owner told us to get settled and to come back down and pay when we were ready after settling in he showed us on a map of belfast all the places we should explore and gave us really helpful information he also helped us to arrange a black cab tour for the next morning since it was just my friend and I it was great to be paired with three others staying at the hostel to save money on the tour and to have it all arranged for us. The hostel can be a little bit loud but the atmosphere is much nicer than a big industrial hostel and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owner, William was verbally aggressive towards guests and staff members. He even threatened to fight a guest when he was drunk one night! He is rude and completelt unprofessional. The state of the hostel is a disaster with almost everything broken or falling apart. It's dirty and smells of mold. It is so loud well after quiet time and no one enforces it. People were doing drugs in the hostel too. I highly recommend not staying here at all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank fashionista_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
You guys again. get a life. You were removed from the hostel months ago.
Get a life! Lots of spare time creating new profiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Please be careful of staying in this hostel. I have been very badly bitten by bed bugs. At first the hostel seemed OK not as good or clean as other hostels that I have stayed in but it would have been fine for the night as I know I was not spending much time there apart from to sleep. . I saw a bed bug in the hostel the morning after sleeping and was slightly concerned, this was followed by my noticing some spots on the sheet at the bottom of the bed when packing my bag. We checked out and as the day progressed I began coming out in bites. By the end of the day I was covered in bites everywhere especially where my skin was exposed. Not only am I dealing with itchy painful bites, something like I have never experienced before I am also dealing with the anxiety that I have taken these creatures home with me. I have emailed the hotel to tell them what I experienced but have not yet had a reply, this combined with previous reviews and responses to said reviews makes me wonder if they will even deal with the issue. Was barely in the hostel so did not have much dealing with the staff but they seemed friendly enough, breakfast was fine but I would save myself the hassle and book somewhere bedbug free!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jujuface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laganbackpackers, Owner at Lagan Backpackers, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
You guys again. get a life. You were removed from the hostel months ago.
Grt a life! I see all your reveiws were submitted in one day to make it look more legit! Nice one!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagan Backpackers

Property: Lagan Backpackers
Address: 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast BT7 1HU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lagan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Included is a FREE English Breakfast that includes Bacon, Sausage, egg, beans and toast. Or Porridge or scrambled eggs and bacon. Please note breakfast is strictly between 8 and 10 with no exceptions. All breakfast served only with coffee or tea. Lagan Backpackers is simply a large Belfast house that has been converted into a Backpackers Hostel; and it is owned and run by a South African guy who knows what backpackers want. Our high ratings are mostly due to the great attention and recommendations that you can expect from both myself and my staff. My idea for a great hostel is very simple: to make you feel at home. To give you a comfortable bed to sleep in, to keep the noise down after eleven to ensure a peaceful sleep and to make you feel so at home that you make new friends and enjoy Belfast as much as possible. We provide advice on all tours of Northern Ireland, and will only recommend tours that we have personally experienced. We advise that our customers do not pre-book tours before visiting as we find that some tour operators overcharge and do not provide the level of customer satisfaction that we expect for our guests. In addition to this, Lagan Backpackers hostel is very friendly to single travellers, as we go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. We are located minutes from the City Centre, the Lagan River and the picturesque Queens University campus; and mere moments away from the lively Botanic Avenue where there are many restaurants, shops, pubs and clubs for our customers to enjoy. Additionally, the Botanical Gardens that boast beautiful greenhouses and the famed Tropical Ravine is a short walk away, adjacent to the Ulster Museum. ** No groups, stag parties, hen parties or drunken weekends like Paddys day!! Please remember only for the 11,12,13,14 July I do not accept booking from people from the UK (England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales..Also no American or Canadian band members). This is only for the marching season. No refunds on deposits will be given and you will be turned away on arrival. No stag or hen parties or groups without prior permission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Lagan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing