We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed - has went down hill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square Cafe & Restaurant - CLOSED

The Square Cafe & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $62
Cuisines: European, British, Irish, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
co antrim
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not impressed - has went down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was always a fan of here but the last night was terrible...i ordered Sirloin steak and i think there would have been 1 inch of meat and the rest was gristle and sinew - it was inedible. i was offered a free coffee/tea for the quality of the meat. I will definitely NOT be back. Poor quality

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    29
    18
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First night in Belfast , might not try any other restaurants.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our first in belfast , hotel recommended here. Arrived at 7.30 ish. Our table was downstairs only one used. By 8pm it was full to bursting. Food amazing , staff really good and not pushy. Slight gripe was we were near door (last minute us) it was chilly and the ammount of people coming in meant it was chilly until about 8.30 but next time we will request away from it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qweet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had never been here before but had good reviews from friends, we had relatives from abroad staying, and thought we would give it a try.
We were given a round table for six people upstairs, which was great as we could all enjoy the on going conversation.
The menu had a great choice of food to suit all tastes.
The service from the staff was very good, polite informative, wine glasses were filled discreetly.
I would recommend The Square to anyone who would like a semi-formal, or romantic meal for two.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marvan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, great wine, top rate service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have been to this restaurant a number of times and it never fails to please. For good reason it can be very busy at times so make sure and try to book well in advance if possible. My favorites would be the Square Pate to start followed by the Roast Monkfish Provencal but I have worked my way through most of the menu and have always been happy. Recommended for a relaxing evening in one of the finest restaurants in Belfast at a reasonable price. Pick a nice bottle of wine and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“brilliant again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

went to the square again last night for the second time,read some bad reviews on t.a.from last time we were there mainly about poor customer service and staff attitude.we tried to book a table two weeks ago but were told they were fully booked because of groupon offer.i suggest to groupon people to try the square meal for two at £23, were in belfast can you get two courses and a bottle of good wine for two people of such high quality,if anyone can find any establishment please let me know.the waiter who served us was very friendly they make no difference in service if you are going for the offer menu or the a la carte menu upstairs.our meal was fantastic, starters of pate main course of tempura fish for my partner i had smoked haddock rissoto dessert of apple crumble and creme brulee everything was so fresh and cooked to order.the square was quiet last night downstairs although many people went upstairs while we were there.six people from the south of ireland came in and sat downstairs.after our meal as we were leaving i asked them if there was anywhere in donegal were we could get a meal for two with a bottle of wine for 23euro as we are going there next week, mcdonalds was the reply but you will have to bring your own wine,says it all dont you think.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing