We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Excellent Location, but shower / bathroom not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here on a short 2 night city break in March. The hotel is very centrally located, being a stones throw away from the historic St Ann’s Cathedral. We were easily able to walk to all the main touristy sites such as Titanic Belfast, City Hall and Crumlin Road Gaol. We took the bus from the airport and had told the driver the name of the hotel on boarding - who then very kindly called us out on reaching the St Ann’s Square bus stop. The hotel has a nice lobby and reception area, and there is also an in-house restaurant adjacent to reception – which we didn’t visit.

Our twin room was spacious, comfortable and had a pleasant décor. There was a TV in the room but no fridge or mini bar. Breakfast wasn’t included in our stay, so we opted not to pay the extra £12 to have this at the hotel.

I would also recommend the 1 day excursion to the Giant’s Causeway with Allen Tours, which can be booked via reception for the bargain price of £16! This includes the journey there via a very scenic route looking on the coast on one side, and cliffs, caves and fields on the other! The tour has a number of additional stops at a castle, the rope bridge and a brewery. Our tour kind was very knowledgably and kept us entertained throughout the journey.

The worst aspect of our room, by far, was the design of the shower, which was on the same level as the rest of the bathroom with only a partial partition. As the rate at which the water went through the plug hole in the floor was extremely slow, it was only a couple of minutes before I was standing in a puddle of soapy water. Within 10 minutes the water had penetrated the entire bathroom floor, a few more minutes with the shower on would have resulted in water seeping through the bathroom door and onto the carpet in the room.

We did complain to reception on check out and they acknowledged this was a regular problem / complaint. Overall I would recommend this hotel provided you can book it at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttentiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Tahir10

Thank you for your review and I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable and busy time while here exploring the sites on offer.

I apologise regarding your shower issues while it is not a routine issue the pipes do at times get clogged up after guest use, something our maintenance & housekeeping teams are always checking.I am sorry that on this occasion it appears your was not fully operational and I hope that it did not take from what seemed an enjoyable visit by yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here last weekend, we came over on the ferry with a coach load from the panthers supporters club, we were over watching the panthers play belfast giants- ice hockey! Good location, very close to all tourist attractions, room was clean with everything you would expect staff very kind and helpfull, no parking but as we on coach that wasnt an issue as the coach parked elsewhere anyway. Drinks at the bar expensive but i had expected this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear dawn p

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your trip over to Belfast & staying with ourselves, I hope that we can look forward to seeing you again in the near future for another enjoyable visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel is modern and clean. It's in a good location, only a few minutes walk from the main shopping district and bars / restaurants. The lobby & bar has free WIFI however the bedrooms only have 30 minutes free after which there is a charge which in 2014 is ridiculous. I used a booking site to make the reservation and it was pay on arrival however when I was checking the receptionist advised me that payment had already been taken from the credit card attached to the booking site which annoyed me as it had taken away my option of paying with cash or debit card. The same happened to my travelling companion, they had their card debited 1 week before arrival. There was a boiling kettle like hissing noise all night in the bathroom which could be heard in the bedroom even with the door closed. A good point about the room was that there is a plug beside the bed which although sounds simple, it's lacking in so many hotels & with smart phone batteries not lasting so long it's always a welcome feature. There is no parking facilities however there is an outdoor pay council carpark across the street or a private underground car park €27 for the duration of the stay it was quite an extra expense & had I realised how much I would have paid extra for a hotel with free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bl0ndie895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear bl0ndie895

I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay us as much as we would have expected you to.

Regarding our internet charge we offer very competitive rates which are similar to many Belfast hotels, we have recently upgraded our speed to twice its previous speed with no extra charge to our guests.

I apologise for the debiting of yours & your friends room charge before your arrival and have spoken to our Front Office Manager to pass onto his team as this is not our normal procedure unless you have purchased an "Advance Purchase" rate.

On the noise coming from your bathroom, it sounds as though the fan in the bathroom has been on, usually this noise is minimal and not a problem for guests though I apologise that it was too loud on this occasion, however I would empathise that we do have our front desk manned 24/7 in order to help with any guest needs and I am sure our team could have moved you rooms had you required or had maintenance look at the fan noise had it been reported.

I do hope that you choose us again should you be back in Belfast and allow us to show all of our good points and do our best to ensure you encounter no bad points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The room was quite nice and suitable for our visit but the bathroom floor tiles and grouting was quite stained so was concerned about hygiene. We only paid £20 each night for two nights we were there so cannot complain but if I had been paying the 2 night package for £158 I would not have been happy at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Lorraine M

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to enjoy another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

clean spacious room, check in and out very efficient, and special mention to the very professional and accomodating night staff. This is ideal if you are out and about in Belfast due to the close proximity of the cathedral quarter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 846Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear 846Anne

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of our great location and the surrounding Cathedral Quarter.

I hope that you choose us again in the future when next having a Belfast break so that we can again offer you a great place to relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed as part of a larger group. Room very clean and ready early on arrival day. Had a lovely meal in the bar - the menu before 7.30pm is great value for money. Plenty of choice at breakfast. All staff really friendly & helpful. Great location for exploring shopping centres and Titanic Belfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear GemBz

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay with us and I am delighted we helped you enjoy your trip, I hope that you choose us again in the future for your next stay in Belfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Up on arrival found this hotel better than expected.check in quick and simple as other people at tge time around reception.however found room being nice and spacious enough.and then night came over- it was damn windy and there was something wrong with window- wind blew in;all over this heating is switched off during the night,so had almost no sleep on first night.wind blowing in through window,making terrible noise + heating off = extreme sleep like under the bridge.didnt report straight away as partner was sleeping and disnt want to wake up. wanted to report this next morning,but up on our leave,there was no one at desk and we didnt have a time to wait as going for a tour.came back in afternoon and asked if extra heater could be brought to room in case room is cold- as we left heating on at morning in hope room will be warm,thought it will stay warm whole night and we wont use heater,but on return of dinner found the same- heating off and cold room. We got lucky there wasn't wind that high anymore - so warm and quiet room gave us good sleep.concluding our stay- nice room and comfy beds,friendly staff.if I would get something similar to deal I've got for stay,would stay again,but 70-90€ I think I is slightly too pricey.
Oh, and room service - delivery charge of 7.5£??? This beats most of 5* hotels and waiter must be retired president's personal servant.
P.s. stayed in room #511

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BravoJohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RE_Manager_13, Manager at Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear BravoJohny

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to read that yo0u did not fully enjoy your stay.I apologise for the poor first nights sleep that you had, though I wuld stress that we would have been more than happy to move you rooms had the issues been reported to reception, though I understand your reasons for leaving it.

We do have staff on our desk 24/7 and I am sorry to read on you not being able to find a member of staff at the desk whilst you were there and have asked our Front Of house manager to look into this.

I would also like to add that after discussions with our Food & Beverage Manager and guest response we have reduced our room service charge significantly from this week onwards.

Thank you again for your review and I hope that you may stay with us again should you return to Belfast and allow us the oppurtunity to give you the kind of treatment we hope to give all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,952 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 44 in Belfast
2,918 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre

Address: 20 Talbot Street | 20 Talbot Street, Belfast BT1 2LD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range: $91 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Belfast City Centre Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing