We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value food, first class service”
Review of Ginger Bistro

Ginger Bistro
Ranked #4 of 1,049 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value food, first class service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited whilst on a business trip with a colleague as it offered a good range of gluten free options. The food was excellent and the service attentive and friendly. The early evening per-theatre menu offers excellent value and a great range of options. As well as good wine there is a selection of beers from a local Northern Ireland real ale brewery which is a welcome sight in Belfast. I'd definitely return next time in Belfast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian19650715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,157
    357
    71
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great buzz and good food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

been once after a long time talking about it and was very happy with the experience. staff were very pleasant and the restaurant had a good atmosphere if a little noisy at times but the food was very good and reasonably priced i felt. overall very satisfied and will defo be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This experience was just fantastic. Had the best scallop dish I have had in a long time. Service was impeccable and fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were a table of 6 last Friday evening (9 year old included). We opted for the Pre-Theatre menu and there was so much choice it was difficult to decide. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Although they do not have a children's menu they were happy to do a half portion. Would be happy to go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagsMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for me- food just ok/poor”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I feel awful saying this because I know the restaurant has such a good ethos, buying locally/ serving fresh produce etc and the staff are so so lovely but I've been 3 times and disappointed 3 times. The food just is not good- full stop. We had bread and home made tapenade to start - the bread was stale! I had a fish main course which I could tell was fresh (not frozen) but the dish was too salty and horrible. No veg or appropriate sides were included. The restaurant does boast a michelan star but I don't like the food. I'm also the type that mortally hates 'thrice cooked' chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CiaraG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Bistro also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ginger Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing