We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”

Alans Causeway Cafe
Ranked #142 of 1,113 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Irish, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: 2015 - Recently named No.4 (Out of 18 Brilliant Breakfasts in Belfast), in an independent mystery shop. 2015 - OPEN ALL OVER 12TH JULY HOLIDAYS WITH EXTENDED HOURS TO 4PM ON 13TH & 14TH We are Belfast's only exclusively Breakfast and Brunch Restaurant. Offering a huge menu, all at budget prices, of local Northern Irish Fayre, as well as dishes from all around the world. We also hold 5 Stars from Belfast City Council Food & Hygiene. The Causeway Cafe offers the highest levels of food, freshly cooked to order, at budget prices. Our best seller is our 10 Piece Ulster Fry at only £4.95 With a Free Tea or Coffee. Opened in 2005, we regularly update our menu with daily specials, and improve our offering with new dishes and ideas. Whether its a simple coffee or tea, with a caramel square or brownie, or a full breakfast / brunch, we are sure to have something on out menu to suit. From Belfasy Frys, vegetarian, gluten free, pancakes, soda bread, porridge, lots of tea flavours, hot chocolates, cappuccinos, lattes. Mochas, espressos.... Out menu of Hot Drinks, Soft Drinks, Hot and Cold Food is huge. Why not pop in and have a look.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is a nice little cafe located in the premises of Belfast International Youth Hostel. Friendly staff and nice extensive menu. Good service. Prices are not very high. Quality of food is good. Free wifi is available which has got a great speed. I had really nice sandwiches for breakfast. Only negative I could find is that toilet is pathetic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank KP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear KPJ_UK_NCL
Thankyou for taking the time to review our Cafe.
We are delighted to receive the positive feedback, and we continue our endevours to offer the best quality of food, widest selection of menu and the best service we can, all whilst retaining the lowest prices possible.
As you may be aware our Cafe (although attached to the Youth Hostel) is independently and privately owned.
Our cafe business holds 9 years award from Belfast City Council Environmental Health for our standards of cleanliness and food management.
Unfortunately the toilets on the premises belong to and are maintained by the Youth Hostel, and as we do appreciate that these are for the use of our customers, we have been in recent discussions with the Youth Hostel with regards to updating and improving these facilities.
We are delighted you enjoyed our food and service, and as a recent addition we are happy to know that the installation of WIFI is proving beneficial to our customers.
Regards
Alan Doherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was last here a couple of years ago. I gave it great score then, but its now even better.
I'd highly recommend it to any visitor in Belfast, its a little distance off Great Victoria Street / Shaftbury Square, but worth the walk that would take you less than a minute.
The guys go out of their way to be helpful, friendly, and always take a lot of care over their food and presentation.
When I was there in July it was a public holiday, and they discounted some of their prices when most other place were putting them up, which is a nice touch.
Their food is restaurant quality for budget price, its all nicely cooked.
Look it up, and make a point of going if you are in Belfast, they open every day of the week from I think 7.55am even on sundays. I'll be back soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paulclarke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to give us such a glowing review.
We hope we can generate many more reviews like this from our customers, as we endevour to do our very best to make the experience a fun, and memorable one.
We are constantly striving to update, improve and evolve to ensure this is always the case.
Again, thankyou for the excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Alan Doherty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A good choice for breakfast if you're not going to make your own. The sodas are really filling and good value.

1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Tom S
Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe, and for rewarding us with 5 out of 5.
We endeavor to offer the best value for money we can achieve without compromising on the quality of produce we use, or on customer service.
Whilst our Sodas and Ulster Frys are our best sellers, we are proud to offer an extensive selection of food from all corners of the globe.
We always try our best in the hope customers feel we are worthy of a 5 out of 5 score, and hope we may continue to please every customer in the same way.
Again, thankyou for your review, and hope to see you soon.
regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

well where do i start oh yes i know what a great place to eat and the food is amazing and the staff cant do enough for you and the scrambled egg is delicious and i would tell anyone who is staying near to the cafe go in and try the food its well worth the visit so i will highly recommend going in the cafe even if its just for a delicious hot drink and the prices are good aswell sogive it ago i will be again in october

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hoothootmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mike
Thankyou so much for the great review.
Here at the Causeway cafe we strive to keep improving not only our food, but our customer service.
Its great to see customers return time after time, and hopefully by the time you return in October we will a completely new look cafe with booths and leather sofas for extra comfort.
Thanks again for the review, and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Belfast.
Regards
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When I was on vacation in Belfast I ate there breakfast every day. The burgers are fantastic, the Ulster fry was enough for the whole day (wasn't hungry until 10 p.m.) and I just loved the waffels. Oh, the waffels! I have to go back sometime because there are still so many dishes I haven't eaten yet. And I just loved to chat for a few minutes in the morning, it was so nice... :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Babsi
Thank you so much for your review, and your comments about our food. All our food is freshly made to order so it arrives fresh to your table each time. We strive to offer the best customer service, and a fun, friendly atmosphere.
It was nice to meet you, and catch up with your each morning for a chat.
We do hope to see you again soon when you return to Northern Ireland.
Take care.
Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alans Causeway Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Alans Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing