We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food and staff”

Alans Causeway Cafe
Ranked #157 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Irish, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: 2015 - Recently named No.4 (Out of 18 Brilliant Breakfasts in Belfast), in an independent mystery shop. 2015 - OPEN ALL OVER 12TH JULY HOLIDAYS WITH EXTENDED HOURS TO 4PM ON 13TH & 14TH We are Belfast's only exclusively Breakfast and Brunch Restaurant. Offering a huge menu, all at budget prices, of local Northern Irish Fayre, as well as dishes from all around the world. We also hold 5 Stars from Belfast City Council Food & Hygiene. The Causeway Cafe offers the highest levels of food, freshly cooked to order, at budget prices. Our best seller is our 10 Piece Ulster Fry at only £4.95 With a Free Tea or Coffee. Opened in 2005, we regularly update our menu with daily specials, and improve our offering with new dishes and ideas. Whether its a simple coffee or tea, with a caramel square or brownie, or a full breakfast / brunch, we are sure to have something on out menu to suit. From Belfasy Frys, vegetarian, gluten free, pancakes, soda bread, porridge, lots of tea flavours, hot chocolates, cappuccinos, lattes. Mochas, espressos.... Out menu of Hot Drinks, Soft Drinks, Hot and Cold Food is huge. Why not pop in and have a look.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing food and staff”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

well where do i start oh yes i know what a great place to eat and the food is amazing and the staff cant do enough for you and the scrambled egg is delicious and i would tell anyone who is staying near to the cafe go in and try the food its well worth the visit so i will highly recommend going in the cafe even if its just for a delicious hot drink and the prices are good aswell sogive it ago i will be again in october

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoothootmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mike
Thankyou so much for the great review.
Here at the Causeway cafe we strive to keep improving not only our food, but our customer service.
Its great to see customers return time after time, and hopefully by the time you return in October we will a completely new look cafe with booths and leather sofas for extra comfort.
Thanks again for the review, and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Belfast.
Regards
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When I was on vacation in Belfast I ate there breakfast every day. The burgers are fantastic, the Ulster fry was enough for the whole day (wasn't hungry until 10 p.m.) and I just loved the waffels. Oh, the waffels! I have to go back sometime because there are still so many dishes I haven't eaten yet. And I just loved to chat for a few minutes in the morning, it was so nice... :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Babsi
Thank you so much for your review, and your comments about our food. All our food is freshly made to order so it arrives fresh to your table each time. We strive to offer the best customer service, and a fun, friendly atmosphere.
It was nice to meet you, and catch up with your each morning for a chat.
We do hope to see you again soon when you return to Northern Ireland.
Take care.
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value Dining In Belfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This great little Restaurant / Cafe is beside / in the building of the Belfast International Hostel. Very modern and colourful style, with a mural of the Giants Causeway with tables for two people, or long tables similar to those you'd see in Wagamama chain we'd use in London.

We stayed at the Hostel and had breakfast there.

It is located on the ground / reception floor. We weren't expecting much from a Hostel Cafe, but we were blown away. The menu choice is virtually never ending, and they cook all the food while you wait just how you ask. The Cafe is also fantastic value for money given the standard of the food served. The staff are friendly, and chatty too, and seem to take pleasure and pride in serving everyone. There is also a selection of vegetarian and vegan food (my girlfriend is veggie and had lots of choice).

We did try another couple of places for lunch and dinner etc, inc Maggie Mays as it had been recommended on here, but the service was slow, food was much more expensive and not a patch on the Causeway Cafe, and their staff weren't that friendly it felt like they were doing us a favour serving us ....so instead stick with the Causeway Cafe, it definately should be your first port of call, and its in the same building, so perfectly handy. The cafe isn't owned by the Hostel, but is is run very professionally by a nice team.

Its a pity they don't open a bit longer, we'd have used them for lunch or dinner too.

Food is really cheap compared to anywhere else in Belfast, but its still good quality and decent portions.

Keep up the good work guys, we'll be back for another visit soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paulclarke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaria123, Owner at Alans Causeway Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear paulclarke1234
Thankyou so much for your glowing review of our Cafe.
We try our best t maintain the highest of standards whilst retaining the best value prices we can offer. We also cook all our food freshly to order to maintain those standards.
We are delighted you love our decor, and Im sure you will love the new look fully refurbished cafe which is in the final stages of completion. We look forward to seeing you back at the Cafe again soon.
With thanks from myself and all the staff.
Alan
Owner - Causeway Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alans Causeway Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Alans Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing