We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Dining”
Review of Murphy Browns

Murphy Browns
Ranked #228 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Dining”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My sister and I Have been going to Murphy Browns for many years, and have always had a very pleasant experience. The food has always been lovely and we've always been served by very pleasant staff, they're always very welcoming and nothing is any trouble for Chris or Donna. They make our evening very enjoyable, and we always look forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doris2013belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local restaurant for good food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Murphy Browns is a good local restaurant as they are few and far between in North Belfast!

Their steak night is excellent value. Great sauces. All dishes are tasty, good size portions, friendly staff and best of all bring your own bottle!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I end up here at least once a month! So handy to get to and plenty of parking on roadside. Anything you order is delicious, have a few favourites - chicken curry or the chicken goujons! The chips are lovely. Staff are always very happy and friendly, easy to talk too.. Desserts are also very nice, esp the diam bar one. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naomi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having eaten at this restaurant on several occasions - coffee/scones, lunch and dinner we found our visit last Saturday evening rather disappointing.
We booked a table for 7.30pm - on arrival we stood for nearly ten minutes awaiting for somone to show us to our table. We were tucked into a corner where we might as well have been with the people seated at the next table - too close!!
Four girls arrived for the adjoining table and a table of six also arrived. Although our order was placed before both parties they were both served their starters before us.
When asked the waitress said our order hadn't printed in the kitchen and so the delay.
We were told we would have complimentary desserts.
The starters and mains were ok but really the menu could do with a revamp - no change in a while now.
After the main course we were asked "do you want dessert then?" We ordered dessert -a pavlova which arrived looking rather lopsided and sad. I ordered a dime bar dessert - tasteless!
We were not offered to order tea/coffee.
The atmosphere was grand - a bit of a buzz around but really don't think we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BelfastCastle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Murphy Browns, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello BelfastCastle1,

First of all I must apologise for the unsatisfactory experience during your recent visit to my restaurant.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. I would really appreciate the opportunity to make amends and hopefully regain your loyal business as regulars.

Please contact myself John Weiniger (Proprietor) or Donna Dignam (Restaurant Manager) to discuss your visit further. Tel: 028 9039 1309 or email john@murphy-browns.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value value”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Been to quite a few restaurants lately some a lot more expensive than murphys! Don't know where he buys his steaks they are absolutley delicious and the home made pavlova is a must for those with a sweet tooth! If your looking for a nice meal lovely atmosphere great value give murphys a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familymartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy Browns also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Murphy Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing