We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the few BYO's in Belfast, with great food!”
Review of Byblos - CLOSED

Byblos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Golden Mile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the few BYO's in Belfast, with great food!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

If only more places were BYO, I would eat out more often! Cosy restaurant with a very personal service from the staff. Being Lebanese, it was great to get food which is different from the norm. The aubergine was delicious. I highly recommend, and look forward to going back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank retro1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    48
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A friend and I went here after hearing great reviews about this place. Have to say I was quite disappointed - staff were not in the least bit friendly which surprised me as it has a reputation of being friendly and portions of food seemed to be bulked up with a lot of lettuce - would not go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic dining experience!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Byblos is an excellent little restaurant, hidden away behind the Crown bar, in the city centre. Amazing, fresh, beautifully cooked and presented food and different from most menus on offer in the city. The service is also great and very friendly. The pricing is quite reasonable, considering the quality of food and the portion sizes. The kafta, chicken tawouk, halloumi cheese and stuffed vine leaves are all highly recommended and the hommous is the best that I have ever tasted. Don't be put off by the idea that the food may be a little too exotic for your tastes, going by the names of the dishes. The food and flavours are wonderful and the dishes are deceptively simple, in a very good way. It is also a 'bring your own' establishment with no corkage charge! What more do you need?!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good value, alternative dining”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Went for an early evening meal last Saturday, without a booking. The waiter was eager to help us to chose from the menu and siad the hummus was a must. We had that with the mixed kebab and chicken kebab which were both lovely, along with dips and salad. Nice fresh food. Typical no fuss, diner type eatery, but I like good quality food, and a great price, so will return. BYO no corkage too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went here with friends recently, and had a lovely - and inexpensive - meal. I'd brought a bottle of pink fizz, and as soon as the waiter spotted it, he was over with 4 flute glasses!!! The BYO with no corkage charge makes for a very reasonably priced evening!! We ordered 4 starters, with some flat-breads and shared them - quite delicious!!!!!! Personally, I wouldn't want a whole bowl of hummus, so having a table of 4 to share worked really well. The mains, grilled meats with sauces and salads, were yummy,
tho' perhaps the menu might get a tad boring, after a few visits. The staff were lovely, friendly and efficient, and the restaurant is very clean. Definitely to be recommended!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing