We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunchtime miss............”
Review of Brooklyn SQ

Brooklyn SQ
Ranked #38 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy great food the Brooklyn way at Brooklyn SQ. Situated in the heart of Belfast’s Shaftesbury Square, the giant neon sign is where you’ll find the most delicious combination of American Italian food. From stateside burgers and ribs to authentic pizzas and pastas Brooklyn SQ is fully licensed and is ideally situated to nearby nightlife and cinema locations for party revellers, families or parties to enjoy seven days a week.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lunchtime miss............”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we arrived for a late lunch after a day out in Belfast,after a few minutes wait we were directed to our seats and given some menus,after bringing us our drinks the food order was taken starter & main,not long after the main course arrived.............no starter ! at first this didn't really annoy or bother us until we started eating,i have to say the chicken could have passed as white cardboard,tasteless dry and bland.i doubt very very much that I will be back after my experience today

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    141
    72
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private Party - Speranza”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently held a private party for my son's Christening in Speranza restaurant and could not be happier with the overall experience. When booking we were told we could have the entire first floor which is absolutely beautiful. We were given free reign to decorate the room and were even given access the night before the party to decorate with balloons and such. On the day the staff were outstanding and the food was excellent. There were more than 70 people (including many children) in our party and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We had requested a buffet for 70 people and the standard and variety of the dishes was exceptional. There was everything from pizza and pasta to bruschetta and stuffed mushrooms and much more. The food was replenished several times and there was more than enough for all our guests. Many of our guests spoke to us about the quality of the buffet. There were also many boisterous children in our party and the staff were again very welcoming and accommodating. A huge thank you to the management and staff for helping us celebrate such a special day exactly how we wanted. We will most definitely be back soon and I would highly recommend Speranza for any kind of private party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

i couldn't fit another bite in! We i ordered the RIGATONI alla CARNIVORA (meat lovers pasta!) and it was unreal! I deff recommend it. My wife had the SPAGHETTI CARBONARA. We also order the a pizza bread starter which came quickly and was very tasty. The mains came quickly afterwards and then then we ate until we couldn't lol We will deff be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time going-great!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went for dinner here on Saturday night with my boyfriend. My sister raves about it so thought we'd give it a try. Staff were really friendly and pretty quick in taking our order. Food was great and good value for what you got. Was decorated lovely and will definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claires888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“2nd visit in 12 months 2nd time disapointed”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went to Sparanzas for a birthday party on Saturday evening, 7 of us for dinner. The staff member that greeted us was very friendly and helpful gave us good seats and seated us quickly, the young guy taking our order was very friendly and had some fun with us. Sadly from there on the night didn't really live up to our groups expectations, we ordered a mixture of steaks pizza and pasta, the food was fine nothing really to get excited about, service was pretty sloppy with some of our group being served 10 mins after everyone else had eaten, this place used to be really good on a Sat evening with plenty of buzz but it seems to have lost its appeal, the lovely bar upstairs was not open much to our disappointment. Then the biggest shock of the night, the bill £191 for 7 people for dinner, working out at £30 a head , everyone gasped at the price for what we just had, I'm afraid this is the second time in 12 months we have been here and been disappointed , I was a real advocate for this place sadly no more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn SQ also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Brooklyn SQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing