We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite restaurant by far!”

The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,070 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“favorite restaurant by far!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I have visited the barking dog a few times and love it! Food is always amazing and the staff are so helpful and friendly. The tapas are worth a try. I like how there is always something new on the menu so no matter how many times I visit I can always try something different :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    299
    94
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Been there with quite a big group of colleagues, so we had a fix menu. Service was attentive and quality of food very good. Big portions, so if you are not terribly hungry get one to share in two. Burger was excellent . The external terrace is a very good add-on to the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good. Will definitely return!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Most impressed on my first visit to The Barking Dog. Good choice on the menu and the food was delicious. Service very prompt but when my friend and I requested a break before ordering dessert that was not a problem and we were not under pressure to finish our wine quickly but able to relax and chat. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GoTrainsBoatsPlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still Top Dog”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We visited the restaurant for my wife's birthday treat. Yet again a fantastic meal from beginning to end. Lovely tapas starters followed by delicious main of smoked chicken with sweet potato ravioli accompanied by a smooth Sauvignon Blanc. To end my wife had a gin cocktail. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere allowed for an enjoyable evening. Worth getting the lead out and going for walkies to The Barking Dog.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoJojo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of wight
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Glad we booked a table!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best food we've had in along time!!! From the tapas to the main meal all the flavours were perfect!! But do book especially in the evening, as it get full quick and I now see why :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing