We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“belfasts hidden gem”

The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“belfasts hidden gem”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is "the dogs b******s" . What a find.My wife and I stumbled upon this place at lunch time. I have had a few steak sambos in my time but this place wins hands down ! My wife got a pea and truffle risotto. Both dishes were well presented, very tasty, HOT, and just had a little bit of love given to them before they hit the table. Great service, funky modern decor, busy and overall a great little place worth a visit. Will deffo call again. Thanks for reinstalling my faith in the cafe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    300
    95
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, Great Service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal here one Saturday night. The atmosphere was great, the staff were amazing and the food was delicious. I had a couple of cocktails that were fantastic. The bill was a bit on the expensive side but that's what you get for great food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much better restaurants in Belfast”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

nice ambience, shame about food. Had a lovely wee evening with a very good friend but for the price paid there are much better restaurants in Belfast.....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pull your socks up”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The last time was here was about a year ago and i thought the place was ok. Food has got better but only slightly, sevice was very very poor. Bill for 2 was over £90.wont go back! ever! Had dinner in Mollys yard night before and had a better time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

ohh what a lovely set up.
had the salt and chilli scampi with a shin burger, salt and pepper scampi was to die for!!!!! melt in the mouth scampi with a little kick from the pepper.
the burger was beautiful too but HUGEEEE I could never finish it!
staff are helpful and the little patio outside is lovely to sit in for a drink.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Barking Dog Restaurant Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing