We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”
Review of Cafe Conor

Cafe Conor
Ranked #102 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are open from breakfast till late and have numerous delicious modern European dishes to choose.From original comfort foods and classic dishes, there will be something for everyone. We are known in Belfast for delivering the best from tasty homemade snacks to hearty evening meals. Our unusual high-ceilinged room is brightened with the natural light from the lantern roof and was originally the studio of local artist William Conor (1944-1954).
Armagh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have dined at this place on average 3/4 times a year for the past few years. Generally it has been very good, unpretentious food tastefully cooked and in pleasant informal surroundings. My last visit with my wife was a huge disappointment. We called on a sunday evening. The bruschetta was pretty nondescript, very little tapenade or mozzarella cheese. The spiced leg of lamb consisted of three stringy, fatty slices of lamb which tasted as if it had been cooked a week earlier and certainly was not spiced. It came with rice, yoghurt, and nan bread and salad, the best part of the meal, but hardly good value at £12.95. I think they are sitting on their reputation and taking their customers for granted. I certainly won't be back for a while.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    107
    40
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good food and handy location”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a very busy small restaurant beside the Ulster Museum and the University. The food is good and the service is friendly, fast and efficient. Early bird menu is excellent value but whatever time you choose to go it is better to book ahead, although they will do their best to fit you in.
Very bright and airy, so don't expect subdued lighting with romantic atmosphere. It is is more cheery and laid back than quiet and intimate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aughnacloy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Eat here regularly and never tire of it! Always feel at ease with our 2-year old daughter. Nice atmosphere, great food. Love it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ail36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Funky, Arty and Good Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Casual eating at its best. Good buzz every night of the week and great value early bird on Mon to Wed from 5pm to 7pm.(Main course and a glass of wine/beer/coffee/tea for £10.00). Atmosphere is always lively, with some sought after booths and long refectory tables for sharing with groups of friends or strangers. Food is an eclectic mix of traditional and Eastern fusion, and all very appetising. Good choices with traditional fish and chips competing with more complex dishes of Moroccan lamb etc. Staff are friendly, efficient and accommodating...no raised eyebrows when sharing meals or asking for extra plates. Reputation for being an arty cafe but unfortunately some of Shawcross' more interesting paintings by have been removed from the walls. a
Altogether a great place to try if you are in the University/Museum area of the Belfast

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julianna462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had just come from the ulster museum and were looking for somewhere to get coffe and we ended up here. It was bright and friendly and had very good scones. Its a bit over priced but it was nice to sit there and decuss the museum!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Conor also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Conor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing