We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suite Retreat - perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suite Retreat - perfect romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed in the Fitzwilliam for one night. We went for the suite as it is a rare treat to be away for a night, child free. Cannot recommend these rooms enough. We were on the 8th floor, so was lovely and quiet. Massive bathroom, with a shower for 2 and a bath suitable for 2. Perfect for a romantic getaway. There is complimentary water in the rooms, although one small bottle between 2 people did seem stingy, given the price we had paid!!The hotel was busy the night we stayed so there was a nice buzz about the place. All staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We had lunch in the hotel bar, which was nice. They had a special on for the six nations with a burger and pint for £10 (not available with a soft drink, which is not so good if you are not drinking alcohol!!). For breakfast there was a good enough selection, although maybe there could have had a wider selection given the standard of the hotel. My husband opted for the cooked breakfast which was nice (if a little on the lukewarm site), I went for the pancakes, which were delicious and freshly cooked to order.
There was a bit of a queue for checking out on Sunday morning, although this moved pretty quickly, given we had paid in advance a quick check out option would have been good. The location is great, right in the heart of things. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a break away in belfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    691
    243
    93
    54
See reviews for
270
1,439
115
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

great value hotel right in the city. trendy decor, friendly staff & excellent breakfast. Couldn't find fault with the Fitzwilliami, highly recommended for all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dub_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

staff made the stay all the more enjoyable, polite and helpful despite being obviously busy, restaurant was a small let down but you can't have everything and as we both work in the hotel industry, myself and my husband are extremely fussy.
Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed for a weekend in January, friendly staff and great location make this a good starting point. Hotel also has a beautiful bar and restaurant, attractive lobby and the room decor and view is exceptional. Well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAvalanches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

On arrival, the reception staff were polite however not exactly welcoming. Again polite on departure, but not service with a smile, no enquires about how we enjoyed our stay.
The room was stylish, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was of a very high standard.
The location of the hotel is hard to beat, minutes from shopping and restaurants.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.
I would point out however I received an e-mail asking for any feedback and gave the e-mail address to the hotel Manager / Asssist Manager. Having taken the time to make a couple of points I was disappointed not to get any response!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeauCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Very good and friendly service, lovely quiet room, very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Nicely done modern hotel, with spacious rooms and friendly staff. A few downsides: room windows don't open, which is usually a reason for me to find another hotel. And they don't seem to have the hang of breakfast yet - burnt toast, and where did they get that orange juice from?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing