We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Was looking forward to my 2 night stay in this hotel after reading the reviews, however I was very dissappointed. The foyer was a let down for a 5 star hotel, the halls were ridiculously dark and the room, although nicely decorated, was very small. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I had ever slept in and on the first night I slept only 3 hours due to the heat in the room and the hospital-like bed. I phoned down to reception twice only for them not to answer or call back. No turn down service offered or received on first night. I also found the staff dismissive to the point of verging on rude.
Will not stay again if I wish to have a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    675
    240
    93
    54
See reviews for
256
1,388
114
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed for 1 night (Saturday) with my wife. The hotel is very well located - just a couple of minutes from the main shopping area. The foyer is not very impressive for a 5-star - quite compact and under stated. The bar is modern and quite clean. I booked valet parking (cost £15 per day) - it's a convenient service and the attendant was very efficient in taking the car and bringing it around on checkout.

We got the standard room and this was certainly big enough for the 2 of us. The view was of a carpark but we didn't mind. The room was very tastefully decorated. Most of the furniture and fittings was of an exceptionally high quality (with the exception of the writing desk which for some reason was a little flimsy)

There is a fully stocked minibar, haridryer, ironing board+iron, writing paper, lcd tv. There were extra pillows and tea making facilities (including milk) and free bottle of water on arrival.

We booked dinner in the hotel as it has a michelan star. The dinner was excellent and not outrageously expensive. The restaurant is on the first floor and it is (again) modern and very tastefully decorated. The waiting staff were very attentive. The presentation of the food was first class and portions were on the smaller side (which is the way I like it when out for a few drinks also). I had code and it was cooked to perfection. My wifes beef (stew) was less impressive but still very nice. The starters and deserts were top notch - overall well worth dining there. One issue I had was that the fire alarm went off a couple of times. This was annoying and we played it down when the poor waiters rushed around apolgising and explaining why it was happening. But a 5-star establishment should've offered a free drink and I'm taking a star off the rating for this. But this is a management issue - the staff were excellent and we tipped on that basis.


Belfast is quite a small city and there's not a huge amount to do so if you're staying in Ireland I couldn't recommend anymore than one (possibly two at most) nights in the area. The bus tour is very interesting (£12.50) as it goes through some of the sectarian 'hot spots' (Shankhill Road & Falls Road). You can still see the 'peace line' fences that divide the communities. Also, the bus goes into the grounds of the very picturesque 'Stormont' and along the port with the famous Haarland & Wolfe cranes. There is also a Titanic tour available but we didn't go on that. On the bus tour we passed by Queens University which looked very beautiful and probably worth a visit if you had the time.

We also went to see a concert in the Odyssey Arena - acoustics were excellent - very good venue for a concert. The hotel were very efficient in booking a taxi to take us out and the draught beer in hotel bar on the way back was very good.

There are quite a few large shops in the town center - sterling is quite weak (as of writing) so it could be worth doing some shopping while you're there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dub1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

a £280 room for a night!very commerical wanting to charge at every possible opportunity.to access internet from room tv £24.99to use and not return an umbrella £15one small bottle of water compliments, need another one £3 mini barno dvd in roommicroscopic breakfast £19  dark corridorscharging for newspaperstaking £1 automatically for a charity you do not consent to donating to.the above charges are acceptable from a budget hotel operator but not from a supposedly upmarket operation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doc813700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzwilliambelfast, General Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast. As the weekend in question was during the Tall Ships, our hotel was almost full and as your booking was made the morning before your stay we only had Studio Suite’s available but offered you a discount of their normal rate of £280. Use of hotel umbrella’s is Complimentary to all guests and these are provided in the guest bedrooms and in the hotel lobby. To purchase an umbrella, the cost is £15. The hotel provides Complimentary Wifi to all guests, in all guest bedrooms and public areas, as well as Complimentary internet access in the business centre. In addition the hotel provides a 24hr Pay TV/Movie package which also includes the internet and the cost of this is £24.99, this is an optional extra. The hotel provides a complimentary newspaper, the Belfast Telegraph, if a guest wishes to order an alternative this can be arranged at the guests own expense. Breakfast was included in your rate. The hotel sponsors a charity called Orbis, which is for the prevention and cure of eye disease called Trachoma. A Voluntary £1 donation is applied to all guests rooms. Information about the charity is displayed at the reception desk and also in the guest newsletter which is given to guests at check-in. This donation is voluntary and can be removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Loved the hotel - room decor was just as we like and public areas were excellent.

Parking at £15 not good and as far as I could see not on web!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandfgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed for one night, but it felt like a week. Hotel is beautiful, very modern design. Room was huge with en suite with bath and large shower and the toiletries were fab. Staff were so friendly and genuine. Philip the wonder concierge booked a fabulous restaurant for dinner (James Street South) and organised a taxi for us. Our car was taken from us when we arrived and we didnt need to take it back as we checked out, there was no problem leaving it parked until later in the day.

The reception area has a small library of books which are fantastic to browse through over a drink and the bar is very cool and food was perfect. I honestly couldnt recoemmend it any more. Oh and irs right beside the Opera house so perfect if you were going to a show.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed for the weekend. It was our first trip to Belfast and we were not dissappointed. My husband is coeliac and the staff did eveything to ensure he was able to eat safely. The rooms are a good size. The bathrooms are very luxurious. Position is a block from main bus station and a block from city hall. The open top tour bus stops across the road, so its all on the doorstep. It rained so the hotel gave us a brolly for the day, arranged transport at the drop of a hat. Truly a joy to stay there.
The restaurant is very reasonable and the chef is Michelin starred. Good irish cooking no faffy stuff. good portion sizes and good choice.
Will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I travel quite a lot and have been lucky enough to stay in many 5 star hotels around the world! id rank this hotel top of the list!
Check out was so fast! Girl on the desk was very friendly and so helpful, I got Valet Parking £15 per night - the mccauseland car park across the street is £11 per night but id prefer my car to be on site!
I stayed in a Deluxe king room booked through the hotel £155 for 1 night! the room was gorgeous with a corner view overlooking the city and Divis mountain, and it really wasnt that noisy for being right in the heart of belfast!
id deffinately recommend this hotel to anyone it was fantastic, bed was really comfy too! ive not one complaint!!! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumdumdedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing