We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of our "minimoon". Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and the breakfasts were brilliant! Can't fault the place at all! Make sure to show your bill when paying for parking to get a slight discount!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 3,496 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for our anniversary. The room was fine, staff friendly and location great but we were hoping to eat dinner in the restaurant. We arrived about 3 minutes late and after the maitre d' asked the chef we were told we were too late. We explained that we were guests at the hotel but it was a flat no! Disappointed to say the least!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for a birthday celebration and the hotel placed a birthday card and small cakes in the room on arrival which was a nice little touch, The hotel is of a high standard with very nice rooms and a great bathroom... The location of the hotel is great and only a 5min walk into the center,. there is also many good restaurants very close to the hotel.

A must for the first time visitor is a trip on the city hop on hop off tour bus.... £12 for a 48 hour pass is fantastic value and you can use it like a taxi to get around.

Room Tip: high room for no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2catsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The staff were friendly, inviting and very helpful. The bar staff were very attentive allow the food here wasn't great. The rooms are spacious and clean and the toiletries are gorgeous. This has been my 6th stay here and I will continue to return again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Checked in Saturday afternoon. Hotel is nice enough, very modern, very well located. Checking in process was horrible, for a "big city" hotel in city center. Located on very busy corner, main entrance is not obvious. I pre-booked valet parking so I was expecting to see a valet or doorman, but nothing. I choose the side street entrance. Left car and went to front desk to check in. Car keys are collected at front desk. No offer of help with bags. Returned to car (rental) and in trying to open trunk without keys, managed to set off car alarm…security guy stepped out on to sidewalk to see what was up…saw us, then he returned inside…still no offer of help. I returned to front desk to get car keys…still no offer of help with bags. Returned to car, shut off alarm, got our bags and went back to hotel. Ten feet from elevator, gal behind counter finally asked "Do you need help?" Not now. C'mon guys…you can do better then that!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break in Belfast and our stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel was extremely enjoyable, not only is it in a great central location, with clean modern rooms, but it employs the most incredibly attentive and professional staff. Nothing is ever a problem for them and they all go the extra mile for their customers.

Food in the bar and restaurant is of a very high standard and the service is excellent. The hotel even arranged a hire car for us which was delivered to the door. It arrived later than planned and so the hotel staff arranged a discount with the car hire company on our behalf, which was greatly appreciated. Belfast is a very friendly city, but the staff in the Fitzwilliam are the friendliest of them all. We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody planning a city break in Belfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rodan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Belfast, was a pleasant and enjoyable experience.
Located 5 minutes from the city centre, and just round the corner from the Grand Opera House, The Crown Bar and Europa Hotel. About 15 minutes from the airport by taxi, and cost about £9 to arrive by taxi.
The staff on the front desk were friendly and welcoming, as was the concierge. Once we checked in (early), we were directed to our room, a basic executive, which was a generous size and well decorated. The bathroom was clean and had both a bath and separate shower. The walls did seem a little thin, as we could hear the neighbours tv, or maybe they were a little hard of hearing?! Although this was only for one night, so maybe a one off.
The free wifi was excellent, we could stream tv shows without issues. We visited the bar, which was a nice atmosphere, although a little expensive!
We were welcomed to use the computer and printer to print our boarding passes for the return journey, which was fantastic, and both concierges were very helpful.
My girlfriends only comment is that the hallway is very dark.
We did not pay the full price for our stay, as we did think it was a bit steep, but got a good offer on another website.
Overall two very happy guests, we would recommend The Fitzwilliam Hotel, and provided we can find another good offer, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are a good size, and although the cheapest available were very nice. Very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 47 in Belfast
2,646 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 47 in Belfast
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#26 of 47 in Belfast
1,460 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#6 of 47 in Belfast
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $157 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing