We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed as a couple 18th-21st. Service at the Fitzwilliam was polite, friendly and attentive, for example the receptionist asked upon checking in whether we required any directions or bookings, and the concierge provided us with a map and comprehensive walking directions. On our last day the receptionist kindly ensured that a taxi was booked ready to go the airport, having spent the day at the Titanic experience, whilst the concierge located luggage scales for us.

We didn't book DBB/BB so can't comment on the breakfast, but we ate in the restaurant one of the nights. The food price was fairly reasonable and the food itself was lovely. When we arrived at 7pm (weeknight), there was only one other table dining! I wouldn't say this was a bad thing, but we had been told to make sure we booked a table if we wanted to dine there as 'the restaurant gets busy'. Plenty of places to eat nearby if you don't wish to dine at the Fitz, and also a Subway and Tesco across the road if you want something on the go.

Toiletries provided by the White Company were really lovely. Thankfully the bathroom has standard lighting as well as 'mood' lighting! Was also even able to listen to the stereo/cd player (located in the bedroom itself) whilst in the bath (door open of course!). The bed was king size and incredibly comfortable.

The hotel does have a fitness suite and although it is small by any standards, but it has all you could need for while you're away (crosstrainer, bike, treadmill, freeweights, exercise ball, towels, water dispenser, air conditioning).

The hotel itself is in a convenient location for: city centre/city hall, War Memorial gallery, city sightseeing tour, crown liquor saloon (National Trust), Grand Opera House, and if you go the McCoombe's coach tour to Giant's Causeway (which I highly recommend! via Carrickfergus Castle, Bushmills Distillery, Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge), there is a pick up point a couple of buildings down the road, by the Europa.

We stayed on 2nd floor and our room was an executive with rear view, which we were fine with. I doubt you're at much of a disadvantage if you don't spend the extra to get a corner room with a view (superior/deluxe). Would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Kat8900

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how you found the service 'polite, friendly and attentive'. I was also pleased to read how much you liked the toiletries which we provide and how you found the bed 'incredibly comfortable'.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    691
    243
    93
    54
See reviews for
270
1,439
115
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were there from xmas eve to boxing day.
Reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly on arrival and went to bar for a drink -similar experience. Had to ask for mulled wine and mince pies which were part of welcome package.
Room was lovely and great view over Belfast. Candle supplied in room but no matches available even at reception. Bathrobes tired looking and very little wardrobe space. Toiletries not replaced day2. restaurant staff pleasant at all meals - helpful and courteous but food not fresh or special.Housekeeping staff very pleasant. Christmas stocking on the door nice touch.
lacked ambience and didn't feel christmasy or special. Obvious some of the staff didn't want to be there at xmas. Wouldn't recommend for xmas stay/package.
Not suitable for families with children. Wouldn't rate at more than 3 star.

Room Tip: Need to go for a superior room level 4 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genuine-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear genuine-lady

Your feedback is highly appreciated and I wanted to thank you for the time you took in sharing your comments about your stay over the Christmas period.

It is regrettable that your visit did not fulfil your expectations. We strive to provide a wam and genuine service to all our guests. It is therefore disappointing to read about your experience as it is evident we could have done a much better job in this regards.

I would very much like to discuss this with you in further detail. Please contact myself directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here a while ago. Arrived late at night following a long flight and had a completely hassle free check in (which is always a plus!)

Room was stylish and comfortable, only downside was view of the bins (from on high) but i didn't spend anytime gazing out the window like in a travel advert so was not really an issue.

Had a couple of drinks in the bar which were good and enjoyed good conversations with the bar staff.

All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totaltraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Totaltraveller81

Many thanks for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was lovely to read how we provided a 'completely hassle free check in' after your long flight and how you found the room 'stylish and comfortable'. Perhaps on your next visit we will be able to provide you with a room with a better view!

Thank you for your time and consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went for a trip with me and the girlfriend, had a great stay, amazing room and were made to feel so comfortable. However the highlight of the stay was the Fitzwilliam bar. Our server Andrew, Tall blonde fella, was the biggest gentleman I've ever met. He took care of us all night, and not only was our server but became our entertainment for the evening, very funny, charming and sweet. I will most certainly be back to the hotel very soon, and yous have Andrew to thank.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Joey4815

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience from your last visit with us here at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I am delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and the service provided by Andrew from the bar. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with Andrew and indeed the entire team here at the hotel.

Thank you for your time and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want to stay in a boutique hotel in the heart of the city centre then look no further. The floor to ceiling windows allow for bright rooms. The breakfasts, bar and ambiance are terrific. The only negative is that it is on a busy road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear kevinmck

Many thanks for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

It was a pleasure to read how you found 'the breakfast, bar and ambience terrific'. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagaokakyo, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel is not bad. Good location. However, I noticed some points unperfqect.
At the mini-bar, there is no AC power for electric pot.
Mini-bar was locked.
Air-conditioner does not work at night. Room was very cold at mid-night and early morning.
Finally, bill was incorrect!! I never use mini-bar but some stuff was added in the bill.
I have to fight with reception guy.

Room Tip: Nothing. I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobnutjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear nobnutjp

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and I wanted to thank you for the time you took in sharing a few points about your experience at the hotel. I was of course most concerned to read that on this occasion you left with a feeling that we did not live up to the high standards you would expect.

I would very much like to speak with you personally. Please contact myself directly at the hotel where I would like the opportunity to discuss with you in further detail.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick St John
Level Contributor
406 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in The Fitzwilliam and was impressed. Check in was efficient and friendly and I had a room on the 6th floor. It did look straight across into another hotel room so I kept the curtains closed in the evenings. Like a previous reviewer, the room was cold on arrival. I decided to make a hot drink to warm me up, the selection was a bit limited (no hot chocolate) and no biscuits - and the only place I could find to plug in the kettle's tiny lead was the bedside table. They were my only niggles. The bathroom was great, the bed large and comfortable, the free Wi-Fi was good and the digital radio a nice extra on top of the television.
The location is very good with stacks of good restaurants close by. Breakfast service was good and again very friendly.
The Concierge was extremely helpful too and I do hope that I'll be able to stay at The Fitzwilliam again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Front Office Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear AttitudeAdjuster

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.

I was very pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay including the service, the breakfast and the location.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team here and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Carolyn Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing