We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
london, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Fitzwilliam is very central -- a handsome new building rising on the corner next to the Opera House. Our room on the 7th floor was big, with a comfortable sitting area, huge bathroom and views across to the Antrim hills. It was beautifully dark and quiet at night. The only thing missing was a Nespresso machine, now becoming standard even in 4-star hotels. I loved the décor, which is mustard and black -- such a nice change from the fifty shades of beige you usually get.

The staff are pleasant and friendly. In particular, the young concierge (Daglan?), complete with top hat, was waiting by our taxi to take out bags even before we'd paid the driver. He took us to our room and whizzed off before we could tip him. When we had a small problem with the bath plug the following day, he immediately offered to move us to another room if we didn't want to wait till morning for Maintenance. Naturally, we waited.

The bar and lounge on the ground floor are both pleasant places to relax and the bar does food too. The first-floor restaurant has no windows, which gives a slightly claustrophobic effect; it's all right in the evening but it would be nice to have a view at breakfast. Breakfast is excellent: a buffet and several hot choices, including not only the full Irish but more unusual items such a smoked salmon Benedict.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice during our stay (it was a rainy few days in Belfast). The food is really rather good but we found the young waiters curiously under-trained. They all managed to give the impression that it was their first day of work experience. Waiting tables is not such an unskilled job as many people seem to think and this aspect lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are huge. I doubt if you can find a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbjkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    691
    244
    93
    54
See reviews for
271
1,440
115
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel right in the heart of Belfast City Centre. Valet parking is expensive at £17.50 but worth the hassle. Rooms are very modern and spacious.reat breakfast and the bar area is very modern and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earls barton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2012. The service was exceptional, the rooms were beautiful and the cocktail bar was fantastic. Concierge service really helpful recommending restaurants and arranging cabs etc. Parking a little expensive in hotel carpark. Location fantastic to use to get around Belfast city centre. Fantastic location for weekend city break.

Room Tip: Didn't use spa or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobblej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaConnor, Operations Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast and for also taking the time to write a review on your recent visit.
It is such a pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests who have enjoyed their time with us.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.
With Kindest Regards,
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything is positive about this hotel, location, cleanliness, standards etc. apart from one gripe.
Ordered a speciality Belgian beer in the bar (£5.90p not cheap !!) and was presented with a warm beer in an appropriate glass. When I complained I was presented with an identical (i.e. warm) bottle. I was willing to compromise and suggested they provide a cold glass, but this was apparently beyond their capabilities.
Needless to say I refused to pay. Contrast this to the restaurant where the service was very good and the food excellent. Belfast is a great city and well worth a visit !

Room Tip: 701 excellent views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend and were really excited, having heard good reviews about it. However, this was short-lived as we weren't very long in our room when we discovered that the flush mechanism on the loo broke every time you pressed it. We did report it, and the concierge and duty manager had a look at it but weren't able to fix it. We were also told that the hotel was full, so they were unable to move us to another room. In my opinion, a flushing loo is a very basic requirement for a hotel, and for this to be the case in a "5" star establishment is completely acceptable.

Definitely won't be back as there are so many better places to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaConnor, Operations Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.
I am disappointed to read that you experienced an isolated maintenance issue during your stay which was beyond repair on the evening in question. I am pleased to confirm this has now been resolved by our Maintenance team and hope you will accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you both as a result of this.
I sincerely hope you will change your mind about staying at The Fitzwilliam Hotel and would welcome the opportunity to improve your experience on any future visits. Please feel free to contact myself directly on gconnor@fitzwilliamhotelbelfast.com
Kind Regards,
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Looks can be very deceiving, at first glance the hotel appears stunning but this is quickly changed when you enter you ensuite bathroom, black mould all over tiles and a fair bit of soap scum in the shower.

Service is appalling... If you can get service that is!

Will not be back in a hurry

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathanmorrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmaConnor, Operations Manager at The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast.
I am disappointed to read that you experienced a few issues during your stay and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you, as a result of these.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further and hope you would contact me via gconnor@fitzwilliamhotelbelfast.com

With Kindest Regards,
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My mom & I returned to NC from Belfast 8 days ago, and I want to go back right now! The Fitzwilliam Hotel is located in city centre and very close to many shops, tourist attractions and great restaurants. The concierges (Kris, Phillip, Declan & Gerard) helped us on many occasions with directions, ideas of what to see next, a new restaurant to try, etc. Anything we needed, they were there for us! We also loved having free wifi throughout the hotel (particularly in our beautifully decorated room).

Both the restaurant & bar have delicious food (the breakfast is exceptional!) Lauren, Stephanie & Robin made sure we had everything we needed every morning (and the evenings we dined at the hotel). I felt pretty fancy staying in such a beautiful hotel and being treated so well. I highly recommend The Fitzwilliam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast

Property: The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Address: 1-3 Great Victoria Street, Belfast BT2 7BQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#10 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Belfast Fitzwilliam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing