We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value, great food, highly recommend”
Review of Hill St. Brasserie - CLOSED

Hill St. Brasserie
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: French, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: From the heart of Belfast's Cathedral Quarter, we offer brasserie fare with a modern twist as our chefs pride themselves in selecting prime local produce available each season and serving up gutsy fresh food with flavours of the Mediterranean and beyond.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“excellent value, great food, highly recommend”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had lunch here today, on suggestion of my sister who has been several times and always had a great meal, lunch or dinner. Was excellent. £5,50 for chicken stir fry which was spicy and delicious. My sister had risotto and if she could, she would have licked the plate. I couldn't help but compare price with McDonalds, 50p more, yet the food was 50 TIMES better, and the surroundings were infinitely better. Support our local businesses because without them, we are left with crappy, tasteless, homogenised, fast food conglomerates.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Unusually for Belfast they also make great salads and have excellent pasta and a good wine bar. The staff are very helpful and the chefs seem to be willing to accommodate most food preferences.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant with superb food at realistic prices”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had 2 course lunch which blew our minds. Taste, quality of produce, service, atmosphere and value are all exceptional. Any visitor to or resident in Belfast should make the effort to dine here-perfection. I have dined in dearer but not better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nualadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal for two, with wine and all for under £50”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Another great meal in this underrated restaurant in Belfast's Cathedral Quarter. Eaent there a few days after Christmas and was spared the festive fare menu. Very helpful staff.
Food was delicious. Atmosphere good. I've eaten here a number of times and have yet to experience a poor meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IDRATING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had dined here before. Arranged to meet up with friends, party of 4, food lovely, staff very pleasant good service definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill St. Brasserie also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing