We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great "round the corner" establishment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryan's Bar and Restaurant

Ryan's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 1,041 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great "round the corner" establishment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

After dropping off our bags at the B&B, our host suggested a couple of places for a late lunch, including Ryan's. It was conveniently located and served a great meal (along with Irish beer of course!). The waiter was very attentive and cheerful. The establishment's decor was interesting-a traditional pub downstairs and a modern restaurant upstairs. All in all a great spot to try, while spending time out of the Belfast rain!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Recycle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    96
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everytime I got Ryan's I feel like I'm at home or something. The atmosphere is chilled and the choice of brews is fantastic! The restaurant on the second floor offers food which is fantastic value and of the highest quality. Their wings are their pride and joy and once you try them...you will see why. Want a nice night with your significant other or just a pint with your friends...this is the place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good pints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

great belfast bar and brilliant bar snacks the only thing we didnt enjoy was the restaurant food but maybe that was a one off

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank les g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely grub, lovely atmosphere, slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

really id rate this place a 4.5 star or 5 if the service wasn't so slow (waited 40 minutes on our food with two young kids). in terms of value, its great. kids eat free on a sunday, so for the 4 of us, 2 courses each, the food came to 23 quid. a great deal. only 3 waiting staff on and place was bunged, seats 70 and there wasn't a spare seat. on the plus side, food lovely, extensive menu, kids well catered for and nice atmosphere and real mix of people who use this place. menu seems to emphacise on locally sourced products which is great. recommended for couples or families.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No fuss food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Have visited Ryan's on numerous occasions, usually for convenience as I live close by. My friend loves the boxtys, but I have been disappointed by the change in the chicken wings. The sauce isn't quite what it was a year or two ago. The meal deals are good value, but it would be nice for Botanic Inns to change their restaurants' menus so they aren't all so similar: potato wedges with sweet chilli and creme fraiche, chicken tempura etc. That said, I will return for the convenience, straightforwardness, and value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Loughbrickland, County Down
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Ryan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing