We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian in Swansea”
Review of Mumbai

Mumbai
Ranked #110 of 653 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Swansea”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Mumbai is consistently good, a party of 6 visited and all our meals were excellent. The service was good, let down by the person who actually delivered the food, who was surly and unsmiling, but the front of house was very pleasant. The food is plentiful and there is little you could really complain about. I think it is the best Indian restaurant locally

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank techanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    64
    22
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chilled setting, huge portions”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited this lovely restaurant on Saturday night. Having done most curry houses in Swansea, I can't believe I had never tried this place. Very smartly presented, and very modern decor, with large tables and plenty of space. Very reasonably priced, and good range of choice on menu. Nice also to have some fresh air and a drink on the terrace outside too! Although not a complaint, the portions were just too big! A main curry dish would easily feed two. We didn't mind though as they were happy to put in takeaway tray for Sunday lunch. Would definitely go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlwindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a shocker!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After a weekend of walking the Gower Peninsula four of us took two local recommendations at face value and visited this place. It's a very pleasant setting with well spaced tables so you don't feel crowded - not that there were many people here at 10pm.
First problem was the warm Bangla beer - so warm one of our party had to ask for ice - but they couldn't give us anything colder. Now this is a big restaurant that should have the facilities to have a good supply of cold beer on the go. Popadums and chutneys were OK and there was no issue for us asking for lime pickle which isn't on the house tray.
Second problem was the starters. They arrived so quickly we were only half way through the pops! Mine was OK - a paneer tikka, but others had the onion bhajis - bad mistake. They were dry and tasteless. This was pointed out when we were asked "is everything alright with your food" and this was just met with a shrug.
Third problem was that no sooner had the starter plates been removed than the main course arrived. Were they after an early night? We had a selection of dishes and only one of the three had any real flavour. The rest were bland and tasteless. I never thought I would say that about Indian food.
Even when this was pointed out it was met with a shrug and what you could take as a begrudging apology. At the very end one of the guests actually told them that this was the worst Indian meal he had ever eaten. The lack of concern was amazing... If this place had any concern for its reputation the manager should have bee straight over to try and redeem the situation. As it was we couldn't wait to get out. It was a shocker of a meal. Poor food. Poor service and we will never darken the door again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best curry house in swansea”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this restaurant. Parking is easy, decor is lovely. its immaculately clean and well kept. Staff are polite and friendly. The food is beautiful and if theres something you want and its not on the menu, theres no problem in creating that dish for u. Popadoms and chutney tray are lush! Currys are tasty..wine list is brilliant. We return here at least once a month and sometimes with friends as theres such a nice atmosphere :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chezza81LiverpoolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Huge Portions!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We revisited this Indian for a midweek bite to eat.
Massive portions. Reasonably priced. Shame the man serving us was so rude.
Appaenetly it's the best curry in Swansea. Shame the service isn't!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai also viewed

Mumbles, Swansea
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing