We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday 8.15 pm NO FOOD !!!!”

Harvester - Gowerton
Ranked #483 of 677 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Incredible. 7 men turn up ready to eat for Wales and find there was no chicken !!! No steak fajitas !!! No San Miguel. No croutons. It's the first day of the week and incredible. Salad was limp. Plates still not cleared after 20 mins of finishing food. Do not bother !!! We won't again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - Gowerton, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 400 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thought we would try somewhere different by going to a Harvester chain for an afternoon meal. We arrived and was greeted by a miserable waitress. who sat us down at our table. There were plenty of seats available that day however she walked us past all of them and sat us right at the back of the restaurant. She said that she would be back to take a drinks order but that was 20 mins later. The drinks arrived promptly by a member of the bar staff who was very friendly and professional. A different waitress came to take our order (Judy) as the other waitress had finished her shift. Judy was very friendly and knew everything about the menu and pointed us in the right direction for what to order. We ordered the firecracker chicken which was very delicious. It came with 2 skewers of tender juicy chicken on top of a half a spit roast chicken which was also succulent, it had a "firecracker sauce" all over the meat and would have been better in a small pot to put as little or as much as you wanted. The meat was accompanied by chips, corn on the cob and Harvesters signature coleslaw however this is an acquired taste and it was something non of our party enjoyed. Before the meal came we were told to help ourself to the salad bar however when we got there it was evident it hadn't been replenished for a while as everything was low and the bread rolls were rock hard. After finishing our meals were paid and we left. Its not somewhere where i would go regular but i will try it again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BoxerGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - Gowerton, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived at 11.49 for an early lunch with 2 guests to avoid Sunday lunch rush, wish we had avoided this Harvester full stop. Met by a rather grumpy front of house lady and shown to our seats. Drinks order taken by very helpful young man who seemed to be running the bar and several other jobs at once, which is why possibly it took about 40mins for 3 diet cokes to arrive. After our food orders were taken we helped ourselves to the excellent salad bar and from there it went down-hill. It took what seemed like an eternity for the food to arrive, this was not helped by the fact we were seated opposite the open plan kitchen and could clearly see parts of my meal (grilled salmon) sitting under the hot service area for about 20 mins before the rest of it was assembled. Result abysmal meal of salmon and grilled prawn with runny mash. Other two diners equally disappointed with meals of gammon and triple chicken burger. How you can botch such relatively simple meals is a mystery. We didn't bother complaining to the obviously overwhelmed service staff who were helpful and should not really take the grief for the incredibly poor cooking and management of this establishment. Left around 1pm very disappointed and £33.17 poorer which was a real waste of money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank auriculas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - Gowerton, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It will only be a matter of time before some poor waitress is run into a child who are not controlled by their parents and then the place is sued for burning a child. No complaints about the food or staff. Just it seems to be more like a kindergarden than a eatery!

Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - Gowerton, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This harvester is the closest to me, used to visit regularly, lately it has gone downhill. Orders are wrong, they run out of items, my chicken was pink in middle, salad bar looked like it had been hit by bomb. I appreciate its a busy eatery but staff are rushed off feet and stressed out- as our waitress told me, levels of staffing obviously an issue which contributes to mistakes happening, which taints service. I like harvester as a chain, one by liberty stadium is great and also Bridgend, shame this one lets the chain down!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spongebob201282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester - Gowerton, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester - Gowerton also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Llandarcy, Neath Port Talbot
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Harvester - Gowerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing