We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed if honest”

Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar
Ranked #19 of 643 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $58
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian and British Restaurant, Cafe Bar and Function Room overlooking Bracelet Bay and Mumbles Lighthouse. Indoor and outdoor seating. Fully licensed. Ample Car & Coach Parking in adjacent council car park. Children's outdoor play area. Cafe Bar serves breakfast (9.45Am until 11.15Am), pizzas, pastas, snacks, children's meals, ice creams & drinks. Restaurant has a 2 course Lunch Special (£9.95) And specials board - includes steaks, fish, chicken, & pastas. Extensive wine list. Reservations recommended. Great selection of vegetarian food, some gluten free options too. Function room for 40-70 people. Open 7 days a week.
South Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed if honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

After not eating here for a number of years, decided to call in whilst passing. The restaurant is lovely but was rather quiet for a Saturday lunch time.
We ordered off the lunchtime special menu, and although it seems a good offer the portions were small (husbands cod was tiny, sauté potatoes didn't seem fresh) and unfortunately not that tasty. Such a let down as I remembered it be be a fantastic meal from the past.
Maybe it was a one off as the reviews seem to be mostly positive, views are fantastic and staff attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    327
    129
    74
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of Napoli in Swansea.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were sick of the continual storms, so decided to pop along to Bracelet Bay for lunch at the Castellamare (and check out the giant waves at the same time!)
As everyone else has commented, the views are amazing, even on a cold wet & windy day. As on every previous visit the service could not be faulted. We opted for the lunchtime special - our starters were mushrooms for my wife, while I had prawns in Mari Rose sauce. Both were excellent.
We both chose rump steak - medium rare for "she who must be obeyed", while mine was rare. Both cooked to perfection, with a really tasty pepper sauce.
Unfortunately the saute potatoes seem to have been pre-cooked & then heated up again - very hard & unappetising, but for £8.99, not a bad meal at all.
I'm not sure "prices have gradually crept up" as tillysam says in her revue, but the portions have definitely got smaller - a year ago this main course would have come with vegetables as well (carrots, broccoli & green beans).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uplandstavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've had so many excellent meals here. But a bit expensive. The staff are always friendly and if you have a question about wine, etc. they certainly know what they are talking about. There's some lovely views of Bracelet bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This has always been our family special occasion restaurant and we have never been disappointed. Food and service is alway exceptional. My only grip is that prices have gradually crept up and we now think twice about going as money is tight for everyone at the minute

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tillysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, gorgeous view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I came here for a celebration and enjoyed the food immensely. It was a lovely atmosphere, with the most incredible view. There was also a little outside seating area to enjoy a drink. My only issue is that I asked for food with prawns, it came out with prawns. I sent it back and they returned it with the prawns seemingly picked out, however they had missed a few. I would have been very annoyed if the restaurant hadn't excelled in other places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing