We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood in South Wales”

Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar
Ranked #20 of 646 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $57
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Italian and British Restaurant, Cafe Bar and Function Room overlooking Bracelet Bay and Mumbles Lighthouse. Indoor and outdoor seating. Fully licensed. Ample Car & Coach Parking in adjacent council car park. Children's outdoor play area. Cafe Bar serves breakfast (9.45Am until 11.15Am), pizzas, pastas, snacks, children's meals, ice creams & drinks. Restaurant has a 2 course Lunch Special (£9.95) And specials board - includes steaks, fish, chicken, & pastas. Extensive wine list. Reservations recommended. Great selection of vegetarian food, some gluten free options too. Function room for 40-70 people. Open 7 days a week.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in South Wales”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were recommended to try the fresh seafood and it was fantasic more than a dozen of us tried the various seafood dishes on offer and all were delighted. The service was great and the seafood marinara is for those who love shell fish and pasta on a large plate!

Great atmosphere don't forget to book this one for great fresh seafood in Bracelet bay.

A real Italian restaurant with great sea views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulm1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    342
    130
    78
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had been a couple of years ago, didn't enjoy the experience but decided to give it another try because the view is so good. It was quite quiet for a Tuesday lunchtime in the holiday season. We were shown to a table after walking up to the 3 waiters at their serving point. After being shown to a table and given menus we were ignored and could not get service for a drink to choose our lunch with. After 15 minutes of being ignored we decided to go elsewhere. We're they busy we could understand, but they were not. I understand the food is good but we didn't get that far. We won't be going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very good food, atmospher and service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Met up with friends at their favourite eatery and instantly saw why.
Great food, impressive specials board and excellent service.
So good we passed loads of other restaraunts the following night to revisit.
Duck breast and cherries in lovely sauce still making my mouth water at the memory of it.

Marvelous views over Swansea bay

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steviedib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have eaten in the cafe and restaurant many times. The restaurant has a stunning view which isnt to be missed. The restaurant/cafe is very large and has plenty of space inside making the atmosphere just right for dining.

I have always found the front of house staff are welcoming and friendly and the service they always provide here has been fantastic. Not forgetting the back of house staff who consistently cook up amazing food!! Yum!

I have found the cafe always has a buzz, with families enjoying an icecream while taking in the views, and small groups enjoying coffees with a snack. The cafe also offers an excellent selection of pizzas and pastas which are brilliant value for money and taste great.

Having dined in the restaurant many times over the years i find it has a authentic Italian menu and all the food is cooked perfectly with attention to detail and good value

If you like a nice glass of wine, make sure you check out their extensive wine menu.

You won't be disappointed



  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miapea_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on sea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor Value for Money - won't be going back”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked into this restaurant for a Fathers Day treat for my husband. Whilst the food was satisfactory - I felt it is overpriced for the portion sizes. I ordered the fillet steak and whilst it was cooked well - it didn't justify the £23 price tag. It was accompanied by a salad which was served in a small bowl with just one tomato and a awful lot of green leaves. The only thing in its favour is the location. It was a blustery and rainy day when we went - but I should imagine that on a good day its glorious. All in all - we won't be going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank christinebayliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Castellamare Restaurant & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing